Slow Cooker Chicken with Mushroom Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was a pretty good meal for a fast, slow cooker recipe to make in a pinch, but it definitely needs some changes. I added 1/2 cup of light sour cream and used the reduced fat/reduced sodium version for the cream of mushroom soup. Even with that, I thought that the sauce was still too salty. Sauce was pretty watery as others have mentioned. Served it over wild rice with a small amount of sauce and it soaked up the sauce nicely, though. I used fresh chicken and cooked it on high for a little under 4 hours. I was surprised and disappointed by how dry the chicken was. With some changes, this could be a good one to have around for a fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was a little worried about this recipe. I read that people either loved or hated it. I really didn't want another failure on my hands...so I made a few changes. I also added a dash of nutmeg and more salt and pepper. I added frozen chicken to retain the moisture and let the soup mixture soak into it for 3 hours in the fridge before starting it. Lastly, once the chicken was cooked, I removed it, and stirred in 4 teaspoons of flour. Whisked to a gravy and served over rice. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This recipe rocks. I doubled the sauce because I wanted more gravy. I used the seasonings to taste though because of the reviews I read about it being bland. I adjusted salt, garlic, onion powder, parsely and such until it suited my taste. I also added a chicken boullion cube. I didn't use any wine though. I used grape vinegar (again, to taste) and it came out beautifully. I served over rice for my husband and myself and over mashed potatoes for my daughters. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Excellent! Made this last night for a family get together meal. To cook the chicken faster, I cut it up into strips. I didn't have any dried onions, so I cut up a medium onion and used that. As well as fresh mushrooms and fresh garlic. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Not bad, but for me it needs a lot more flavor. I even added a pretty good wine to bring it up, but it was still fairly insipid. It needs more garlic, and probably cream of some sort. Maybe a little mustard. I'll try it again, and try to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband loved this recipe, and he can be hard to please. Recipe was great as is! We served over rice. Thanks for a new recipe to add to the line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My family loves this recipe. We love using the sauce over rice. The only adjustment is that we don't use the wine and I may use slightly more onion and spices than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. I added dried mixed mushrooms which were a very nice addition. My sister, who is a chef, always recommends dark meat for slow cooker recipes so will be trying dark meat chicken parts tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is decent but bland and the sauce came out really runny, and thin. I tried again using more garlic and onion but still no luck. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe was...eh. The smell was fantastic while cooking, but the end result was lacking. Good points: The chicken itself was tender, the smell was good and its easy cleanup. Bad points: Taste was bland and slightly bitter, presentation is not very attractive, texture of the sauce is off. It's not thick, but it's almost..slimy. I followed the recipe exactly. This recipe could probably be made better with some tweaking, if you're up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States