Slow Cooker Chicken with Mushroom Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Husband and I loved it. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup, added I small tin of mushrooms, used a half of red pepper, one onion diced instead of dry. I used one gravy stock and parsley and thyme stock to give it some flavor . I used chicken filleted thighs and browned the thighs in olive oil., chopped about 6 cloves of garlic. It came out delicious at the end I added some garden peas and shredded the chicken and put over mash potatoes. Well definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This gets 5 stars because I followed some of the other posts and did some simple upgrades:) I added a can of cream of chicken soup and used the 1/4 cup of milk like others suggested. Instead of a teaspoons of garlic, parsley, and minced onion I accidentally did tablespoons (which I would recommend and will continue to do myself). I also recommend adding some fresh mushrooms, carrots, celery, and chopped onion. I browned the chicken with olive oil and seasoned it with pepper and Lawry's. When I added the chicken I also added the broth it created. About a half hour before serving I added a cup of brown rice. All-in-all liked this dish a lot and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This recipe was so good! Of course I made some adjustments per other readers recommendations. I browned the chicken breasts first sprinkling Italian seasoning on each side. Then I diced a small yellow onion and sauteed it with fresh sliced mushrooms and minced garlic in olive oil, adding Worcestershire sauce at the end to caramelize the veggies. I chopped up celery and added all of the veggies and chicken to the slow cooker. Next I mixed together cracked black pepper, two cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of white wine in with the chicken and veggies. I cooked the meal on low for 4 hours and added capers and a small jar of artichoke hearts in halfway through. I served the dish over jasmine rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe today and it came out great! Instead of regular cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I added about a teaspoon of galangal, and upped the milk to an eight of a cup. I served it with wild rice, and we soaked up the gravy with the rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy to make and very flavorful. I used minced fresh onion instead of dried and added some diced carrots, celery, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones. Since the soup had salt, I did not add any extra salt, but I took the advice of other reviewers and added a teaspoon if Mrs Dash. The chicken was tender and tasted great and there was plenty of sauce to ladle over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe is so easy. I tried it on my husband and two kids one night, not expecting the kids to like it. THEY LOVED IT!!! It's become one of the most popular recipes in our household. Thanks for the great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great Recipe!!! Easy to put together, and it tasted great. My two girls loved it. Need to find a way to make the sauce a hair creamier to put over rice. But, otherwise, it was spectacular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Good. I did season the chicken with season salt, black pepper, and garlic powder first, dipped them in flour, and then gave it a quick sear (about 2 minutes) on each side before adding it to crockpot. Since I was cooking it in the crockpot on high for 3-4 hours I wanted to make sure the chicken was done and wanted to sear some of the flavors in the meat. I also added sauted fresh garlic cloves to my crockpot and a chicken bouillon cube. To thicken my sauce I added some corn starch about 20 minutes before it was done cooking. I served this with a dollup of sour cream. This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this last night for my boyfriend and one of his friends. I modified it a little bit based on the reviews: browned the chicken in a pan with olive oil, rosemary, thyme, salt, and pepper. I had to omit the parsley because I didn't have any :( And then added french onion soup mix, extra fresh mushrooms, and swapped the dried onions for 2 fresh scallions. I also used cream of chicken soup instead of the "herb" one. They LOVED it. I was a little nervous because I just started using my crock pot so I'm new to this whole thing...but it was pretty easy and turned out delicious! I served it on spinach pasta because I didn't have any brown rice as planned. Definitely will make this again...and might try new versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Noel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this recipe today and it was incredible. I put 7 breasts frozen in my slow cooker and added a whole chopped onion, 4 garlic cloves chopped, a pound of fresh mushrooms, salt, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, a huge can of cream of mushroom soup, all I had was dry vermouth so I put in a half a cup. I let it cook for 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect. It actually was like a stroganoff. So creamy. I made some pasta with it. It was so Yummy. My husband devoured it. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States