Slow Cooker Chicken with Mushroom Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Not so good. This came out too runny and bland for my family. I added the extra milk as others have suggested and it made it entirely too runny - maybe it's just me though since it seems like others have had better luck. Also...even with added seasoning ( other than what is called for ) it still came out too bland. I won't be including this in our rotation. Now off to find other slow cooker recipes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making this dish for years. Used to use cream of mushroom soup but now we use Campbells Golden Mushroom soup and a can of whit zin or white wine. You can also do this on the stoptop instead of slow cook. I also do this with pork chops and golden mushroom soup and a can of red wine, I serve both with mashed potatoes or the chicken one is very good with rice pouring sauce over rice. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is delicious and is officially in my dinner rotation!!!! I cut 3 rather large chicken breasts in 1/2 & upped the seasoning a bit: 1 fresh diced onion instead of dried, 1 tbsp dried parsley, 1 tbsp garlic powder, 1/4 c milk, 1 shallow tbsp Onion & Herb Mrs Dash, & 1/4 tsp each of salt & pepper, as well as soup, wine, and mushrooms as directed. I browned the chicken in a little olive oil & garlic powder first (was SO worth it!), cooked on low for 4.5 hours, & left uncovered for one hour of that time to thicken the sauce. Next time, I'm going to omit the extra salt & just going to let it sit covered the whole time b/c I'd prefer to have more sauce; it was delicious & thinning it out just a bit wouldn't hurt a thing! Chicken was so tender, reheats well, and is a hit with mashed potatoes on the side -- sauce makes great gravy for the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We really liked this dish. I agree that it need's some additional seasonings. I added some dried rosemary and smoked paprika. Also made this using home made cream of mushroom soup (Dianne's recipe). We served this over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a dissapointing dish...nothing special, very bland despite trying to add more garlic and white wine to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was not very happy with the way this recipe turned out. I followed the directions exactly, and I thought it was very bland and the chicken breasts in the slow cooker is just not a favorite of mine. They have a much different consistancy when they start to shred. I think dark meat (legs and thighs) are the best in the slow cooker. Also, i cooked everything on low for 8 hours and it was overdone. Again, white meat is just not the best in the slow cooker. The darker meat stays more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong, I made as directed, and it was just really, really bad. I gave it 2 stars because it was convenient to make, and not quite inedible, but I will not make again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was pretty good. It was really easy. I left out the can of mushrooms and used chopped onion instead of dried. It was a little bland for our taste, I think using sour cream instead of milk would have made it taste a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I changed this a bit, doing something some slow cooker people might not like: adding an extra pan. I browned my chicken first (5 pieces) in a big SS skillet. Season with your favorite spice blend (I used a mix of Lawry's & Mrs. Dash). Brown on med/med high heat, and then transfer to SC. I then added about 2TBS butter, and a cup of chopped fresh onion (omit dried). Drop heat a bit and sautee that about a min or two and add a carton of fresh chopped mushrooms (omit canned) and sautee some more. Increase wine to about 1/2 cup and add to deglaze pan. Get wine roiling pretty good, scrape bottom, and add spices (parsley, salt, garlic, pepper, etc). I then added 2 cans of 'cream of' soup (I had mushroom and chicken in the pantry). Stir that and let simmer for a few min. Drop heat to low, increase milk to 1/3 cup, and add to mix. Stir to incorporate, and then pour over chicken in slow cooker, moving things around to get good coverage. Cook on low or high as directed, though I think 4-5 hours on low should be enough since you've already browned the chicken... caveat emptor: be aware of how your slow cooker works. I liked this served over rice with a side of English peas. Some things I might try next time are adding a few TBS of capers, and/or switching to pearl onions added with mushrooms after deglazing pan. If you don't mind the extra pan and just a little extra prep time, I think this really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
First time making this dish in the crockpot, I usually make it in the oven. I sauteed mushrooms, garlic and onion in a tbspn of butter and added to mix. It came out great, probably could have used @ teaspoon of salt, but was still delish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States