Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I say 4, but my husband says 3. He did not like that it had such a strong tomato taste. It was not the 'typical' chili. I liked that it was different from usual. It was not spicy at all. I made it exactly as written. I tried it plain and with sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese. Both were good. Next time I may try adding some garlic and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This turned out awesome! The sausage gave it just the right kick and a nice meaty texture. I added some poblano peppers for a little smokiness. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
i gave it 3 stars not only because of the large amount of tomato paste but mostly because it's not a crock pot recipe. just use one large heavy pot and finish it on the stove top. Simmer for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is one of the best chili recipes I have ever made and eaten! Absolutely delicious! I served it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and green onions. Craved it all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It wasn't horrible just way too sweet. My family all agreed it would be a great chicken sandwich filling if you added a tangy barbecue sauce. Its just not chili. Just for info I added one less tomato paste (people complained about it being too tomatoey) and my paprika was smoked paprika (all I had) instead. Everything else was followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great, the only change I made was I added another can of beans, pinto beans. My husband cannot stop raving about it. Next time I make this i will add some sweet onions and minced garlic. I served it with Sour Cream Cornbread from this site, I made it gluten free and it too was a hit. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My husband says it needs more of something; it's too saucy. Pasta, he said. I used beef base instead of beef cubes, turkey Italian sausage and cooked it on the stove top for 1-1/2 hours. Had to add chicken broth. It's passable - hubby said he doesn't want to see it again in the near future, like 6-8 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was the best chili I ever made. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbueno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was ok. My husband liked it better than I did. It has a very distinct tomato taste. There's 3 cans of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato paste which overpower the chili. It also was bland with just the spices listed. I added an additional tbl. of chili powder to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Good recipe, but has too much tomato in it. Next time, I would eliminate one can of stewed tomatoes, and probably one can of tomato past as well. Tasted more like a meat sauce than a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States