Slow Cooker Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I always read the reviews before trying a recipe and this one seemed simple enough. And it was. Like others said, 4 chicken breasts were too much, I used chicken STOCK and chicken broth instead of water, I added whatever frozen veggies I had in the freezer, I added some onion & garlic powder as well as some fresh garlic, celery salt, corn starch for thickening (not to mention a few potatoes) and I cooked the noodles separately because I didn't want them to get mushy. And the best part of all was someone's suggestion to add Old Bay Seasoning. It was the perfect touch. I can't wait to try this recipe again. Next time, not so many breasts (and fresh instead of frozen), maybe replacing with thighs instead, not so much garlic (it doesn't go well with chicken soup), and perhaps no potatoes, and some poultry seasoning (that I was out of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I follwed the recipe but instead of frozen noodles I just added regular egg noodles about 30 miuntes before it was done. I also added carrots, garlic powder, and chili powder. It came out fantastically! We had extra left over so we packed it up and have it ready for lunches tomorrow! I will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Good basic recipe, but I, like others, prefer more seasoning. That's actually the beauty of it, that you can add what you like. My additions included 2 cloves chopped garlic, a bay leaf, a packet of Vigo seasoning (which also gave it a nice color), sage, and chopped baby carrots. Yummy! It's a rare cold day here in the south, when we can really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookincarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very easy recipe and as others said very easy to build on! I added two cups of chicken broth to the 6 cups of water... also added basil, parsley, and carrots but left out the onion (just because we didn't have one). Also used whole wheat egg noodles! We'll see how it turns out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Learning2Cook87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Good and hearty and easy to make. However, I added some chili powder and cayenne pepper to make it taste more interesting. If I was going to do it again, I would also add some green onions and some chopped carrots a bit later on for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. This is a good base recipe--I did add more chopped veggies and some additional spices. GREAT for a house full of people with a bad cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This turned out way too thick and mushy but the flavors were there. It was good. Maybe more water next time or maybe even cook the noodles seperate then add. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
great flavor, but I found out that you must follow insturctions of when to put in the noodles exactly or it turns to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I used carrots instead of celery. (We don't like celery.) I also used chicken broth and added poultry seasoning, a bay leaf, and some garlic powder. I still thought it was a bit bland, but the family liked it. With these changes, it would be good for a sick day, but for a regular dinner, I would like a little more flavor. I still give it four stars because it is easy, tasty, and can be made with ingredients I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
4 stars because I did add a few things to make it 5 stars for us. Like others, I only used two chicken breasts. Cooked 3, but saved one back as there was plenty of meat. Also added more celery, and carrots. Seasoned it with garlic powder, celery salt, and some poultry seasoning (didn't measure, just threw some in. My favorite way to cook!) Also, switched it over to stove top to add regular egg noodles from the bag. Used about 8 oz to make it extra noodle-y. My 5 yr old and 3 yr old gobbled it up! This will join our list of regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sue Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States