Slow Cooker Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was a good soup. I used 2 cans of chicken broth with 2 cups of water and I also threw in a chicken boullion cube. I added 16 oz of frozen mixed veggies and just cooked my dry egg noodles on the stove and added them that way. It's much faster! I thickened this with some cornstarch. Oh, and I added 1 tsp each of celery salt and garlic powder. I thought it had a very nice flavor and was not at all bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
GREAT - here were my modifications....followed recipe but used chicken broth instead of water and added 1 tbls poultry seasoning. PERFECT. Other personal notes....4 breast halves were too much, next time I'll use three. I thickened mine with flour - took quite a bit, but came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I made this first about a month ago and forgot to rate it. I've made it several times since then and made it different every time. Its super yummy and cheap, too for skinny-wallet-times. I added some baby carrots and thickened it a little and we ate it just like soup with crackers. Winter comfort food. This recipe is part of my base menu from now on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts. This is a good base recipe--I did add more chopped veggies and some additional spices. GREAT for a house full of people with a bad cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It's not fancy or complex, but simple chicken and noodles. Great for a lunch on a chilly day. I used 1 T. of cornstarch mixed with 1/4 c. of the broth to thicken it up and then added the noodles about an hour later. I didn't remove anything before adding the noodles, either. It turned out like a thick, flavorful chicken noodle stew. I will add more veggies next time just to get those daily servings in. Also, I only used 2 chicken breasts (it's what we had in the house) and there was still a lot of chicken. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Like SusanKaty, I'm giving this recipe five stars because it is such a good base to build from. I took many reviewer recommendations including celery salt, a couple of bay leaves, and poultry seasoning. My wife had chicken thighs (8 or so) in the slow cooker without a plan. I cut a lemon into slices and let that cook for 45 minutes or so. Then, after taking the chicken off of the bone and putting it back in the cooker, I added plenty of chicken broth, the reviewer spices (a teaspoon or so each) and a teaspoon of chicken bouillon. To fix the gray color, I added 15 or 20 drops of yellow food coloring. Near the end I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of cornstarch as a thickening agent. I added one tablespoon (mixed with a little water or chicken broth in measuring cup), to the mixture, then let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I continued that process until the mixture is at a desirable consistency. By the way, the lemons I used on the chicken lended a wonderful flavor that spread to the entire mixture. This recipe seems to have a wide margin for error. In preparing this dish--after 3 years of learning to cook, I finally felt like I had enough confidence to deviate from the main recipe a bit. This is a keeper. Easy, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
4 stars...and I haven't even tried it yet! I left it in the crock pot over night and just from looking and smelling it this morning I can tell it's a winner! I did make some recommended adjustement: 2 teas. old bay seasoning, 1 teas. celery salt, 1 teas. garlic salt. I did use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also added young peas and carrots and omitted the onion (we're not big fans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Loved this one!! I was able to make the best chicken noodles ever!! I like a gravy rather than soup so i added the Tbls. of Corn Starch w/ water. I didnt have any frozen noodles so I used a bag of dry egg noodles and it turned out fine, noodles were a little soggy but the gravy sooo made up for it. I also added poultry seasoning, garlic, carrots and soup base(1/2 the required amount, next time i will use all).I didnt have a problem with graying or translucent veggies?? I suppose the soup base helped with color. 4 stars since I had to doctor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raosgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I gave this five stars because it is an excellent "base" for a great chicken and noodles dish. It is very close to a dish that a college friend made.You can do a stew OR a soup with it. It was a bit bland, so we added some celery salt, a tablespoon of chicken bullion & some garlic (a must in this house). I will add more veggies next time, and cut the chicken in half and use dark meat as well as a chicken breast. And since we couldn't find "frozen noodles", we used refrigerated "fresh" noodles, and they cooked up just fine on high in the crockpot the last ten minutes. Make sure all of your ingredients are added to your taste before the noodles are added. I will definitely use this recipe again - THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I added just a touch of poultry seasoning at the end to round out the flavor. My husband really loved this, and in the crock pot it was pretty effortless to make. Definately will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States