Slow Cooker Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm not sure what needs to be done, but something there needs to be more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, Utah, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Loved this one!! I was able to make the best chicken noodles ever!! I like a gravy rather than soup so i added the Tbls. of Corn Starch w/ water. I didnt have any frozen noodles so I used a bag of dry egg noodles and it turned out fine, noodles were a little soggy but the gravy sooo made up for it. I also added poultry seasoning, garlic, carrots and soup base(1/2 the required amount, next time i will use all).I didnt have a problem with graying or translucent veggies?? I suppose the soup base helped with color. 4 stars since I had to doctor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raosgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
GREAT - here were my modifications....followed recipe but used chicken broth instead of water and added 1 tbls poultry seasoning. PERFECT. Other personal notes....4 breast halves were too much, next time I'll use three. I thickened mine with flour - took quite a bit, but came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Like SusanKaty, I'm giving this recipe five stars because it is such a good base to build from. I took many reviewer recommendations including celery salt, a couple of bay leaves, and poultry seasoning. My wife had chicken thighs (8 or so) in the slow cooker without a plan. I cut a lemon into slices and let that cook for 45 minutes or so. Then, after taking the chicken off of the bone and putting it back in the cooker, I added plenty of chicken broth, the reviewer spices (a teaspoon or so each) and a teaspoon of chicken bouillon. To fix the gray color, I added 15 or 20 drops of yellow food coloring. Near the end I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of cornstarch as a thickening agent. I added one tablespoon (mixed with a little water or chicken broth in measuring cup), to the mixture, then let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I continued that process until the mixture is at a desirable consistency. By the way, the lemons I used on the chicken lended a wonderful flavor that spread to the entire mixture. This recipe seems to have a wide margin for error. In preparing this dish--after 3 years of learning to cook, I finally felt like I had enough confidence to deviate from the main recipe a bit. This is a keeper. Easy, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I gave this five stars because it is an excellent "base" for a great chicken and noodles dish. It is very close to a dish that a college friend made.You can do a stew OR a soup with it. It was a bit bland, so we added some celery salt, a tablespoon of chicken bullion & some garlic (a must in this house). I will add more veggies next time, and cut the chicken in half and use dark meat as well as a chicken breast. And since we couldn't find "frozen noodles", we used refrigerated "fresh" noodles, and they cooked up just fine on high in the crockpot the last ten minutes. Make sure all of your ingredients are added to your taste before the noodles are added. I will definitely use this recipe again - THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
My family loved this recipe! I did make some slight changes: it tasted bland after cooking the initial 6 hours so I added two chicken bouillon cubes while the noodles cooked. I've never used frozen noodles before and it didn't seem very appealing to me, so I put in a couple handfulls of dry bowtie pasta and cooked it on the stove for 11 minutes. Make sure you confirm your crockpot liner can go on the stove, otherwise you'll have to transfer the soup before boiling (which is what I did). My kids asked for seconds which rarely happens at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Maybe I didn't prepare the recipe correctly, but it turned out very mushy. This was my first time using frozen noodles, & it just didn't turn out like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It's not fancy or complex, but simple chicken and noodles. Great for a lunch on a chilly day. I used 1 T. of cornstarch mixed with 1/4 c. of the broth to thicken it up and then added the noodles about an hour later. I didn't remove anything before adding the noodles, either. It turned out like a thick, flavorful chicken noodle stew. I will add more veggies next time just to get those daily servings in. Also, I only used 2 chicken breasts (it's what we had in the house) and there was still a lot of chicken. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Italian seasoning? Where does it say that in the original recipe? It's chicken and NOODLES, not chicken noodle soup. I made it at 6am and it came out great! I put in the noodles at the last hour as well and its yummy! (not as good as grandmas though! :) I did add some carrots with the onions and celery (the "trinity" and more like chicken noodle soup.) I'll wait for about halfway through the next time, the color on the veggies is either translucent or is a little gray (I used 1/2 chicken broth 1/2 water) FABULOUS flavor though! Definately have again in the cooler months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATTYZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was OK to get started but not much flavor at all. Needed a lot of doctoring. I did some changing and it turned out wonderful. I used chicken broth instead of water and used more than 6 cups. I also added additional seasonings asuch as bay leaf, garlic powder, peppercorns, etc. and added vegetables such as carrots, celery. I added the pasta when we were going to eat in an hour so it just cooked for the last hour. And I thickened it up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States