Slow Cooker Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
4 stars...and I haven't even tried it yet! I left it in the crock pot over night and just from looking and smelling it this morning I can tell it's a winner! I did make some recommended adjustement: 2 teas. old bay seasoning, 1 teas. celery salt, 1 teas. garlic salt. I did use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also added young peas and carrots and omitted the onion (we're not big fans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This soup was delicious. I took the advice of others and added baby carrots, used garlic salt with the pepper. I also added a can of chopped tomatoes (undrained). I baked some crescent rolls and we had a complete dinner. Thank you for the recipe Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I made this first about a month ago and forgot to rate it. I've made it several times since then and made it different every time. Its super yummy and cheap, too for skinny-wallet-times. I added some baby carrots and thickened it a little and we ate it just like soup with crackers. Winter comfort food. This recipe is part of my base menu from now on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Easy to make and very delicious to eat! I don't like the overwhelming taste of onions so I only put one whole onion in it and it turned out great. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm not sure what needs to be done, but something there needs to be more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, Utah, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Loved this one!! I was able to make the best chicken noodles ever!! I like a gravy rather than soup so i added the Tbls. of Corn Starch w/ water. I didnt have any frozen noodles so I used a bag of dry egg noodles and it turned out fine, noodles were a little soggy but the gravy sooo made up for it. I also added poultry seasoning, garlic, carrots and soup base(1/2 the required amount, next time i will use all).I didnt have a problem with graying or translucent veggies?? I suppose the soup base helped with color. 4 stars since I had to doctor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
GREAT - here were my modifications....followed recipe but used chicken broth instead of water and added 1 tbls poultry seasoning. PERFECT. Other personal notes....4 breast halves were too much, next time I'll use three. I thickened mine with flour - took quite a bit, but came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Like SusanKaty, I'm giving this recipe five stars because it is such a good base to build from. I took many reviewer recommendations including celery salt, a couple of bay leaves, and poultry seasoning. My wife had chicken thighs (8 or so) in the slow cooker without a plan. I cut a lemon into slices and let that cook for 45 minutes or so. Then, after taking the chicken off of the bone and putting it back in the cooker, I added plenty of chicken broth, the reviewer spices (a teaspoon or so each) and a teaspoon of chicken bouillon. To fix the gray color, I added 15 or 20 drops of yellow food coloring. Near the end I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of cornstarch as a thickening agent. I added one tablespoon (mixed with a little water or chicken broth in measuring cup), to the mixture, then let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I continued that process until the mixture is at a desirable consistency. By the way, the lemons I used on the chicken lended a wonderful flavor that spread to the entire mixture. This recipe seems to have a wide margin for error. In preparing this dish--after 3 years of learning to cook, I finally felt like I had enough confidence to deviate from the main recipe a bit. This is a keeper. Easy, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I gave this five stars because it is an excellent "base" for a great chicken and noodles dish. It is very close to a dish that a college friend made.You can do a stew OR a soup with it. It was a bit bland, so we added some celery salt, a tablespoon of chicken bullion & some garlic (a must in this house). I will add more veggies next time, and cut the chicken in half and use dark meat as well as a chicken breast. And since we couldn't find "frozen noodles", we used refrigerated "fresh" noodles, and they cooked up just fine on high in the crockpot the last ten minutes. Make sure all of your ingredients are added to your taste before the noodles are added. I will definitely use this recipe again - THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
My family loved this recipe! I did make some slight changes: it tasted bland after cooking the initial 6 hours so I added two chicken bouillon cubes while the noodles cooked. I've never used frozen noodles before and it didn't seem very appealing to me, so I put in a couple handfulls of dry bowtie pasta and cooked it on the stove for 11 minutes. Make sure you confirm your crockpot liner can go on the stove, otherwise you'll have to transfer the soup before boiling (which is what I did). My kids asked for seconds which rarely happens at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States