Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have made this a couple of times now. It has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made this for my husband & 1/2 yr old toddler. Added only about 1/4 diced onions and used chicken broth instead of water. Turned out great! Definitely doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It reminds me of freezer chicken pot pie with less vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
As written this is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Boy am I glad I went by some of the tips. Two packages of the biscuits would have not given any gravy/juices. I still had to add water and chicken boost at the end. I did the broth instead of the water it might not have diluted the chicken flavor much using water. But it was so much better with the broth. Next time I don't think I will shred the chicken. I sliced my chicken breast into tenders size slices then shredded. If I wouldn't have shredded there might have been more juices. So this is why I am giving this a three. I know I would not had been happy with a mound of dry dumplings. With my decrease in dumplings and exchange to broth I would give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I added more cream of chicken soup and a packet of granulated chicken bullion! It made this recipe awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've never made chicken and dumplings. Honestly, I've never even eaten it. I also added several spices- cumin, celery seed, pepper, a little poultry seasoning. And I used broth in lieu of water. I also started with frozen breasts and cooked for 4 hours on high (chicken was still slightly overdone) and used 2 cans biscuits as directed for the remaining 90 mins. 2 cans is too much, next time I'll only use 1. After making these changes this was delicious! Had I left the recipe as-is I believe it would have been bland with overcooked chicken and too many undercooked dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a good recipe. I season my chicken with s&p, poultry seasoning, and a little onion powder. I prefer to use low sodium broth and soup. One can of biscuits seems to do the trick for my crockpot. I flatted the biscuit dough and cut them into pieces. It seems to help reduce the cooking time. I have made this recipe three times. I have added carrots and celery when I have them on hand. It is easy to make on busy days and great when the weather is cold. Leftovers are nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW! I think my mother would even approve and she made some of the best Chicken & Dumplings EVER! Some things that I changed: Left the chicken breasts slightly frozen as I knew it would be cooking on low longer than they suggested. (I did it on low for 6 hours) I added carrots and celery in with the onions. I sprinkled the chicken with salt, pepper, poultry seasoning and some Mrs. Dash before putting into the crock pot. I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I added just enough vegetable broth to cover the veggies instead of using water. And I used the new "crescent rounds"(cut into 4ths) instead of regular biscuits. (make sure you push them down into the broth just a bit) and turn it on high for about an hour and a half more. The chicken breasts are a bit awkward when trying to spoon it up, but I was afraid if I broke them up before adding the biscuits it would dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious and simple! I only had three chicken breasts, so there was less meat than dumplings due to the lack of chicken on my part. It was so simple to prepare and my very picky children devoured it. I did add quite a bit of black pepper, but other than that, followed the recipe precisely. Cooked on high for 5 hours, shredded the chicken, added the torn biscuit dough, and cooked for another hour. It may have needed a bit more liquid if you wanted it more like gravy, but my family doesn't much like saucy stuff, so they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 5,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States