Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed recipe to a T, but instead of water I used a can of chicken broth. I also let the biscuits cook for an hour too. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made this, twice. It's absolutely delicious and sooooo easy! I prefer dark meat to white, so I use boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also prefer rolled dumplings, so I just roll out the biscuits, then cut them into strips. They puff up, nicely! I also add a few pods of fresh, minced garlic, some chopped fresh parsley, and some ground black pepper. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, as it is now something that I'll continue to make on a regular basis. Yummy!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is the recipe my mother has used for years with the torn up biscuits, chicken stock celery, onion, sage, black pepper. The biscuits have to be the small rolls of 10. The Pillsbury Grands are too thick and make dumplings too large and chewey. Cut biscuits into 4 pieces each. I add half bag of peas and a half a bag of froze an carrots that I have pre-cooked just before serving. Instead of soup, I use an envelope of chicken gravy to thicken it only if it is too soupy. It makes a wonderful satisfying dinner, comfort food. It is very filling and oh so good. Serve with cranberry sauce that has been stirred into 2 boxes of sugar free cherry jello, 2 cups boiling water in an 8x8 glass dish. Stir till cran sauce has melted, put in Fridge's until set. Spread top with lite sour cream before serving. I prefer the cranberries that are not just the jellied kind, but has the whole berries in the can too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine McIntyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Fantastic "gravy" and tender chicken. I made exactly as written and it was very very good. I admit I didn't love the refrigerated dough, however. I made it again and used Bisquick (5 stars this way). The dumplings will swell HUGE briefly, so put more than you think and make them VERY small. I put them in 1 - 2 hours before I'm ready to eat it. My family loves this, especially the kids. I've also thrown in baby carrots when I do the dumplings, so the veggies are done too. This recipe is very versatile. Onion isn't necessary if you don't happen to have one. You can also cut chicken into cutes before putting into the pot to make serving easier. Love it, very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe is excellent as is. Using a quality biscuit like Grands is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
You must use the Pillsbury biscuits in a (four pack) for the dumplings to turn out nice. The more expensive biscuits Grans etc do not work. Just my opinion....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made this tonight. I only used one can of soup and the rest broth. Added a flour and water slurry toward the end of cooking to thicken the broth. Seasoned with poultry seasoning and a few other spices. Really comforting and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingirl26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
My family loved this recipe. I used Bell poultry seasoning, in addition to the cream of chicken soup and chicken broth to coat the chicken breasts. I added a bag of raw baby carrots at the start. I added biscuits 1.5 hours before serving and my teenage son asked if I could make "that type of bread" everyday. He said it reminded him of Thanksgiving stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This tasted like canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States