Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was very easy which was my main goal so I was pleased, but it definitely left a bit to be desired in the flavor. I will do again but add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
By the time the dumplings were done the chicken was over cooked. Served it with cranberry sauce and added cooked carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent in concept, quantity & flavors needs tweaking. I'm living in a no kitchen due to renovations situation and using a slow cooker on my bathroom vanity. I have no proper utensils with which to prep so easy is essential therefore I appreciate the ease of this recipe enough to give it three stars. When I have a fully operational kitchen I'm busy cross analyzing a recipe from Julia Child and Americas test kitchen and making them come together. Water sounds like a really bad idea, broth is wise. Two cans of biscuit dough,( an we have really good appetites) is one too many. I grew up under the Queen of A la King, so I enjoy different soup flavors I used cream of celery and cream of chicken/mushroom combo. I did five hours on high,for the whole cook time. Added strips of buttermilk biscuits cut with my fabulous plastic knife at hour three. Added frozen peas at hour two and three quarters. PS- Not many kiddos enjoy onions. Per another reviewers suggestion I used the frozen chicken breasts and at five hours were nicely done and falling apart tender. The recipe has no added seasoning, spice which seems a bit odd. I added paprika and seasoned salt liberally at the beginning and again at hour four. Pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My family absolutely loved this meal! I seasoned my chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning & paprika.. left my breasts whole.. n put fresh pressed garlic on top with the butter. Mixed my soups with chicken broth n pouredd all over chicken. 2hrs before finishing i put the biscuit dough on top.. after cutting it in strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very Good. I didn't have cream of chicken soup so I used chicken broth and sour cream instead as well as a little black pepper and a few frozen peas for color. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This recipe is so easy and tasty!! Great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed the instructions, adding bouillon, frozen stew vegetables, poultry seasoning, and parsley. I also made my own dumplings and dropped them in 45 min. ahead of the finish. I made my dumplings from (dry) 1/2 cup white flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, dash salt, 2 teas. baking powder, 1 T. fresh parsley + (wet) 1 beaten egg, 1/4 cup milk, 2 T. cooking oil. Mix the wet with the dry just so mixture is combined. Drop into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed recipe to a T, but instead of water I used a can of chicken broth. I also let the biscuits cook for an hour too. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made this, twice. It's absolutely delicious and sooooo easy! I prefer dark meat to white, so I use boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also prefer rolled dumplings, so I just roll out the biscuits, then cut them into strips. They puff up, nicely! I also add a few pods of fresh, minced garlic, some chopped fresh parsley, and some ground black pepper. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, as it is now something that I'll continue to make on a regular basis. Yummy!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is the recipe my mother has used for years with the torn up biscuits, chicken stock celery, onion, sage, black pepper. The biscuits have to be the small rolls of 10. The Pillsbury Grands are too thick and make dumplings too large and chewey. Cut biscuits into 4 pieces each. I add half bag of peas and a half a bag of froze an carrots that I have pre-cooked just before serving. Instead of soup, I use an envelope of chicken gravy to thicken it only if it is too soupy. It makes a wonderful satisfying dinner, comfort food. It is very filling and oh so good. Serve with cranberry sauce that has been stirred into 2 boxes of sugar free cherry jello, 2 cups boiling water in an 8x8 glass dish. Stir till cran sauce has melted, put in Fridge's until set. Spread top with lite sour cream before serving. I prefer the cranberries that are not just the jellied kind, but has the whole berries in the can too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine McIntyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States