Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I browned the chicken two minutes per side and sautéd the veggies two minutes. We enjoyed this recipe. NEXT TIME: lower sodium soup and homemade dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was a good version of chicken and dumplings. I wish the consistency had a bit more of a "sauciness" to it. For me it was a little too thick and sticky but other than that the flavor was fine and it was a super easy version to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Fantastic recipe!!! My grandchildren devoured it. I parboiled chicken legs and deboned them saving the broth to add later . I added potatoes (works as a thickener), veggies,and instead of refrigerated biscuits, I made Bisquick biscuits and dropped then in. After a few minutes, I spooned some of the liquid on top of them. This is one recipe I am not forgetting, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This came out great. I read a lot of the reviews and so reduced my cooking time. I did 1.5 hours on high and about 6 hours on low for a 4.2lb chicken and it was definitely done and moist! No crispy skin as you would have with an oven roasted chicken as many other reviewers said and I did the potatoes and carrots with 2 cups of chicken broth in the bottom of the pot as someone else suggested (as opposed to the balls of foil) but all this worked really well and we really enjoyed the meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made this recipe for a family dinner on a really busy day. I was able to do the prep in about 15-20 minutes and left it cooking. I added cumin, and a tiny bit of sage. My family was thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was phenomenal!!!! I used biscuit dough which gives the whole thing a wonderful flavor. We decided to add some veggies to it, and put carrots, celery, and frozen peas under the chicken. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Easy base for a recipe. The best part is that you can play around with it. I add tobasco, seasonings and some veggies. I've used broth I had frozen or low sodium store bought. There is such a variety of things you can do to this recipe, leaving it as is would be a waste of home cooking. Yea, sure it used canned biscuits but a lot of us full time working MOM's dont have the time to make fresh. I love that this recipe got such high ratings because it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I was so skeptical about this recipe. I'd never had chicken and dumplings before and the ingredients didn't sound all that impressive. I made it exactly as written, except I put the biscuit dough in about 2.5 hours prior to serving, rather than 30 minutes. Total cooking time was 6 hours. It was absolutely delicious. The chicken was so tender and infused with so much flavor and the dumplings came out perfectly. They tasted like biscuits that you sop up gravy with, except they are infused with the gravy flavor. This recipe is going in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
this is delish! I added two chopped carrots and two chopped celery stalks, along with poultry seasoning and pepper. substituted one can cream of mushroom for one of the cream of chickens and substituted chicken broth for the water. added one can of biscuits (not two cans as the recipe calls for) two hours before it was finished. it was so good served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe. I made some changes but to be fair i did taste it beforehand and it was good. I wanted a more creamy texture so i used up some heavy cream (1/2 cup) and instead of water i used chicken broth! It is good both ways though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 5,546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States