Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW! I think my mother would even approve and she made some of the best Chicken & Dumplings EVER! Some things that I changed: Left the chicken breasts slightly frozen as I knew it would be cooking on low longer than they suggested. (I did it on low for 6 hours) I added carrots and celery in with the onions. I sprinkled the chicken with salt, pepper, poultry seasoning and some Mrs. Dash before putting into the crock pot. I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I added just enough vegetable broth to cover the veggies instead of using water. And I used the new "crescent rounds"(cut into 4ths) instead of regular biscuits. (make sure you push them down into the broth just a bit) and turn it on high for about an hour and a half more. The chicken breasts are a bit awkward when trying to spoon it up, but I was afraid if I broke them up before adding the biscuits it would dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious and simple! I only had three chicken breasts, so there was less meat than dumplings due to the lack of chicken on my part. It was so simple to prepare and my very picky children devoured it. I did add quite a bit of black pepper, but other than that, followed the recipe precisely. Cooked on high for 5 hours, shredded the chicken, added the torn biscuit dough, and cooked for another hour. It may have needed a bit more liquid if you wanted it more like gravy, but my family doesn't much like saucy stuff, so they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is great. But I replaced the biscuits with flour tortillas. Much lighter taste and not so doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was good ..but.. I had to "church" it up a bit. I had no cream of chicken soup, so I used cream of mushroom and cream of celery instead. For more chicken flavor, I used chicken broth instead of water. And added seasoning (rosemary, thyme, marjarum, poultry season, and ground pepper, NO SALT) to the chicken/soup mix in slow cooker. Then proceeded on with the recipe. When I added the biscuits, I threw in a drained can of Veg-All, just to heat thru. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
on our monthly rotation of meals! Easy to prep and delish~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THANBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
super easy and very tasty! I did everything the recipe said plus took the suggestions about the chicken broth. I had some Better Than Bouillon, Mushroom, and added a tablespoon. That really added some great flavor. Next time I will make my own dumplings because I didn't like the canned ones so much. It is really good over egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was great!! I too made some changes as well .... I only cream of mushroom soup so I used two cans of that --- i added one sweet white onion chopped, fresh baby carrots and a can of corn --- used about 4 large boneless chicken breasts - covered with water - added some garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper -- cooked for 5 hours on high and then flattened the biscuits and cut in small pieces - added to the crock pot - turned on low and cooked for an additional two hours - came out perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee1003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
So easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So simple and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
What an AWESOME recipe! I daresay it was better than the made-from-scratch stuff that some of my older family members have been making my whole life! I followed the recipe exactly (except I used onion powder instead of real onions (don't like them)) and (taste-wise), it came out perfectly. I was really worried that it was gonna be too bland, but it really wasn't at ALL. The only thing I'd recommend would be to cook it on low for 8-10 hours instead of high for 5-6, because my crock pot kept making weird popping sounds the WHOLE time(but maybe that's just my crock pot). Also, I don't know if it was just the dough that I used or what, but it needed a LOT longer than 30 minutes to cook. It needed about an hour and 15 minutes (on high). My recommendation would be to took the chicken 8 hours on low, then bump it up to high, add the dough, then cook an additional 2 hours. I bet next time I make this like that (which I DEFINITELY will), it will be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States