Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I really liked this recipe mainly because it was easy and I didn't have to do much even to prep. I did a combo of Cream of Celery and Cream of Mushroom, then after 5 hours on low (and then another 1 hr on warm), I then added a can of mixed veggies and a can of jumbo biscuits (16 oz). I set it on low again for 90 minutes. The dough was still a little doughy but I liked it that way. I added salt and pepper afterwards on my portions. Guess I will see if my husband likes it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Can I do it over the stove Cuz I don't have a big slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe - had not done chicken and dumplings before. This was not on the menu growing up. I caramelized the onions and sauteed cubed chicken with garlic, ginger, sesame, and teriyaki sauce before adding to the slow cooker. Diced potatoes and carrots into the pot with cream of chicken soup, chicken broth, and fresh ground pepper. Absolute torture for all as the aroma permeated the house before adding the biscuits at the end and digging in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Cate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. I have passed it out to everyone. This recipe is as good as my mom's chicken & dumplings that takes all day to make. My husband loves it and can even do it himself! Great leftovers too. The only thing I do differently is uses chicken broth and add carrots. We love carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holm Venecek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This came out waaay better than I expected. I used chicken broth instead of water. Absolutely delicious. Great comfort food. My daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe. I made it as is the first time and it was wonderful! The second time I added diced up potatoes and sliced carrots. I boiled the carrots and potatoes in a seperate until soft then added them in right before the dumplings...definitely enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used a rotisserie chicken for two reasons, mainly because I was short on time today but also because I thought this would be good with the mix of both white and dark meat. I also subbed one can of cream of celery (with good results) and added a few pinches each of thyme, ground rosemary and garlic powder (which definitely boosted the flavor). Used low-sodium chicken broth base instead of plain water (3 cups). Considered adding diced veggies, but didn't want this to turn out like a variation of a chicken pot pie, so I decided against it. Wasn't sure if we would like the dumplings so I cut up a few biscuits and put those into the slow cooker (for 1.5hrs), the rest I made in the oven. With the extended cooking time for the dumplings, they actually browned nicely and they were good. Soft, yes, but cooked. We liked the chicken and gravy with the dumplings as well as over regular biscuits. This was a GREAT meal, we really enjoyed it. It made a lot and was very easy overall. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this for my son and myself, being a little skeptical. It was AWESOME. We unanimously voted to keep it in the rotation! I didn't deviate from the original recipe, except to use 2 breasts and one can of 10 biscuits, then cut them in half. It was perfect for two! I may try it with cream of celery and cream of chicken for a little variation. Making the whole recipe for dinner tonight! Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Morse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was my very first attempt at making chicken and dumplings. It was delicious! My southern husband LOVED it. He said coming home to this made his hard day at work, worth it. I used thawed frozen buttermilk biscuits cut into about 10 pieces each. I may use lower sodium soup next time, but this was PHENOMENAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
AMAZING!! All my friends loved this dish but it turned out like a stew. It was super thick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States