Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Turned out amazing. Didn't try the biscuit dough made dumplings from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Burrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just didn't work for me. Everything was fine until it came time to add the biscuits. I decided to cook them a bit longer as others suggested, about 90 minutes. Some cooked thoroughly, others just clumped together into a weird, sticky mess. The end result was extremely thick (but edible). It wasn't as great as I expected. I might try this again, maybe use a different brand of biscuits, and play around with the biscuit cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Mixed 1/2 c each chopped onion, carrot, and celery with large can cream of chicken soup, about half can of water, and 1 T bullion and rosemary before adding chicken. Used large can Grands Homestyle Buttermilk biscuits torn into bite sized pieces, added almost three hours before serving, on low. Sticks to your ribs, comfort food that's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My chicken was done in 4 hours. I won't use onion next time. It daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I needed to cook this longer than 6 hours, so I used chicken thighs instead of breasts. In addition, I used my homemade chicken broth instead of the water, and added some carrots and celery. I didn’t have any refrigerator biscuits, so I used the dumpling recipe on this site which is so easy and works beautifully. This is easy and delicious, perfect for a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Next time I'll use half the recommended biscuit dough and chicken broth instead of water as suggested by others. Perhaps some additional ingredients such as vegetables or potatoes would be a good idea as well. Great dish and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great, the only change I made was to use 1/2 water/ chicken stock and only one can for dumplings, just the 2 of us. Janiece was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Really surprised by this. Made it exactly as recipe. I did use one can of cream of chicken that was the healthy request. I do make a homemade recipe but this was less work! And just as good. All loved it. Also thought the canned biscuits wouldn't taste good but the soup just soaks right into biscuits and gives it flavor. Def a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Really liked this. Didn't change anything. I think next time I will take out the onions, but other than that, it was perfect. We had every item already in our pantry. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
So easy! After reading all reviews, I decided I couldn't leave it alone either...I only used one 8-count can of biscuits. Next time I'll get the five count, or make my own dough-just not quite close enough to Mom's to make it 5 stars. Also I added some really basic spices; cumin, garlic, salt, & pepper. After cooking on high for four hours, I put in the biscuit dough (cut into quarters), and a bunch of frozen mixed veggies and reduced to low. Probably cooked or another 3 hours. Perfect for me, my roommate, and my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States