Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I don't see why people seem to love this recipe. The chicken was completely overcooked by four hours and I got pretty big pieces of chicken. Gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I found this to be a good base or start not an actual meal. I made it again with 1 C carrots, 4Lg red potatoes, 1C celery, 2 cans condensed cream of mushroom soup, and rather than using water I used chicken stock to cover and cook it in. Then I added to taste Rosemary, thyme, sage, cumin, salt and pepper. I waited to put the butter in until just towards the end of the cooking process and it turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This is a regular at my house. 1)it is one of the EASIEST complete dinners I make. It's perfect for a busy day. 2)and... the kids LOVE it! Oh yeah, to make it a complete dinner I add 2 drained cans of green beans towards the end. (or serve on the side)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Good, but really needed homemade dumplings. They're super easy to make, and taste 100 times better than canned biscuits. Then again, I may be biased since we don't like canned biscuits, and prefer to make them from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe is a fairly good base. I add fresh green beans, onions, carrots, peas, chunks of potatoes, turnips, and I use homemade chicken brother with seasonings added in. However, if you use the chicken brother instead of the cream of chicken it won't come out as creamy as you would want. I make a rue with butter milk and flour to create that thickness that is necessary in chicken and dumplings. It doesn't have all the additives that the cream of chicken soups have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this per recipe, except I used fat free soup. My family and I loved it! The 'dumplings' were yummy, but took a little longer to cook than the recipe stated. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Followed the recipe and it turned out awesome! The only thing I did differently was to season the chicken with a little cumin and paprika and then used 1 can of chicken broth instead of water. Turned out great! The biscuits could have cooked a little longer, though. I put them in 90 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
So simple, but so yummy! I took one of the ideas from the other reviews and added a 1/4 cup white cooking wine and 1/4 water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
We really love this simple to make meal. I add a little garlic powder and portabella mushrooms to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
My family loves this recipe! I have made it so many times, especially through the winter. I don't know if I have a super quick crock pot, but it only takes about 3-3.5 hours on high for it to be done. Like other reviewers, I add some spices, otherwise it is kind of bland: cumin, paprika, poultry seasoning, onion powder. I also use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of potato instead of 2 cans cream of chicken. Today I am making it, and I am experimenting with a whole can of chicken broth bc last time the leftovers really thickened up, but was fine once I added chicken broth to reheat it. Highly suggest this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States