Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I added spices, frozen veggies and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, I tried Spaetzle (authentic German dumplings). You can buy in a bag at grocery. Boil the spaetzle for about 25 min. Drain and add to the soup mixture. Tasty little dumpling, spoon size, just right. I added 1/2 way through, so they would soak up the flavor. Ummmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Delicious but heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
first of all I hate it when people make a ton of changes, so for the most part I tried this (almost) exactly as written. I did follow one users advice and used chicken broth instead of water. When I went to add the biscuits it did look a little watery so I did add 2 TBS flour as recommended by some. I also followed one reviewers advice and shredded the chicken with 2 forks before I added the biscuits . Everyone seemed to have different views on the biscuits so I tore some, cut some into quarters and tried 2 whole. I only had room for one package of biscuits and I have a pretty big crock pot. It took a lot longer to cook the biscuits that 30 minutes, probably closer to 90. So, I have 3 kids. 2 are 15 and slightly picky eaters. The third is 10 and will literally go a full day without eating rather than trying anything new. Everyone loved the chicken. Moist, tender, very tasty. We will make this again and again. What we will change. Even with the extra cooking, no one liked the dumplings. Next time we will make them as biscuits and just pour the chicken over them. Next time we will probably cut the butter in half, I'm not sure it really needed 2 TBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise Pump
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
really don't understand the rave reviews; the chicken was very dry, very bland and definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Definitely had to tweak it. Had to add 2 cups of chicken broth to keep the sides and soup from burning. Also, the refrigerated biscuits were not that good. Tasted like eating styrofoam. Next time I'm making the dumplings in a pot of boiling water and then just adding them to the crockpot recipe. Overall, the kids loved it and ate it all (except for the dumplings/biscuits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Great and easy recipe! Used two cans of cream of chicken soup (as directed) and added biscuits about 90 minutes before serving and added a bag of frozen mixed veggies 10 minutes prior. Also added dash of poultry seasoning and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
The chicken was completely overcooked by four hours and I got pretty big pieces of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I found this to be a good base or start not an actual meal. I made it again with 1 C carrots, 4Lg red potatoes, 1C celery, 2 cans condensed cream of mushroom soup, and rather than using water I used chicken stock to cover and cook it in. Then I added to taste Rosemary, thyme, sage, cumin, salt and pepper. I waited to put the butter in until just towards the end of the cooking process and it turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This is a regular at my house. 1)it is one of the EASIEST complete dinners I make. It's perfect for a busy day. 2)and... the kids LOVE it! Oh yeah, to make it a complete dinner I add 2 drained cans of green beans towards the end. (or serve on the side)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Good, but really needed homemade dumplings. They're super easy to make, and taste 100 times better than canned biscuits. Then again, I may be biased since we don't like canned biscuits, and prefer to make them from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States