Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this recipe almost exactly to the original recipe. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts just because we like them better. I took the advise of one post and put the biscuit dough in about 90 minutes before serving. Big Mistake, they were way over cooked. Should have stuck to the original recipe. Otherwise the kids liked the chicken and sauce. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
3 Stars mainly because we tried this twice and the 2nd time, with a few major changes we actually liked it. Here are the changes I made: First of all, we are a small family, so usually recipes make enough leftovers for a week. I used 2 frozen chicken breasts, a packages of frozen veggies, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, that same can filled up with chicken stock and poured into the crockpot. Plus tons of garlic, salt and pepper, sage, turmeric, and tarragon. Let that go on high for 4.5 hours. Then opened a can of biscuits and tore the entire can into bits, and let that go on high for another 1.5 hours - poking all the dough down into the liquid. The dough did an excellent job of absorbing and expanding, and we topped the off with some shredded cheddar. I STILL thought it was a bit bland - even after all the spices and changes. My picky husband and son loved it though. Even with my personal changes, I'd still only give this 4 stars. I figure it's good enough to toy with though, and makes an ok base recipe to change to your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsy Hitchens

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I did everything as directed except i put one can of cream of celery and one can cream of chicken in. I also used chicken broth instead of water as someone else had recommendes. I thought it was pretty and so did my boyfriend. He thought the sauce should've been white though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Montoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I liked the idea of this recipe. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this dish and my family loved it. Very easy!!! Can't wait for it to get cold and make it again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Added extra butter and spicy tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
If you are reading this you can disregard the 5 star rating since it is cooking as I speak. The reason for the post is to ask people to NOT rate a recipe if you have not made it EXACTLY according to the posters recipe! If you change ANYTHING post your own. You are doing everyone here a disservice by changing it and rating it! My rant for the day is over and thanks for looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The base recipe is perfect if you have picky children as mentioned. Kids who like plain foods will love this. It's something I would have loved as a kid. Unfortunately, I discovered that I love flavor and my kids will eat Thai, Japanese, seafood, and my son loves hot sauce. I used the original and a modified to see if I would like either. The original was just too plain. The modified one that I used was the woman who seasoned the chicken (I used garlic, onion powder and black pepper, no salt as the cream of chicken is already salty. I used the chicken broth, cream of chicken and cream of celery. It was just okay. The chicken was dry in both instances. It was a bit stringy. I couldn't figure out why. Some pieces were okay and some were just dry. The dumplings were good. If you have teenage boys, do not listen when they say that one canister of biscuits is enough, it's not. I had to cook more. Maybe because I didn't use Grands but the smaller version. Everyone liked the dumplings (not loved, just liked) and the sauce but no one liked the chicken. This one is probably one that I won't try again unless I locate a modification with a bit more flavor. However, the gravy and dumplings were decent and I threw in some more to cook (on high for an hour) since there is so much left over sauce. I'll eat dumplings for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Helen Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have told everyone about this recipe, it is great. I added fresh carrots and peas to it with some parisley. I wish I had known about this when my kids were young. They would have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Flavor is good but the dumplings are still doughy and falling apart. Not done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaci Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 5,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States