Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Amazingly delicious and simple to make!!! My husband went crazy for it, and said he wants me to make it again VERY soon! It takes a lot for him to say that, as he tends to be pretty critical or picky. The only change I made, was I added a bag of mixed frozen vegetables (thawed) Our kids loved it too and even ate the vegetables in it!! It is definitely a Keeper and will become a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
First time it came out great - and I have NEVER been a dumpling fan. I added some freshly ground pepper and celery. This time, I am adding peas and mushrooms toward the end of cooking time and see how it comes out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha E. Conway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
A big win for the entire family! I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies and swapped out the water for broth. Rave reviews from my husband and teen children. This recipe will stay in the dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
We really like this a lot! Very easy, and very tasty. I did add black pepper and a bit of garlic powder, but those are flavors we like, so I couldn't help myself. I ended up having to finish cooking it a bit differently. I added the cut-up biscuits when I got home from work. It became apparent that they were going to take longer than I expected. It was getting late, and we didn't want to wait much longer. So I took off the layer of biscuits, poured the chicken mixture into a casserole dish, and placed the biscuits back on top. I then put it in the oven at 375 degrees. They finished cooking pretty quickly. I think next time I make it, I will put it in a casserole dish and put the biscuits on top, and put it in the oven. I don't think I will try putting them in the slow cooker. I am sure it works fine if you have the time, but it just doesn't work out for me with the time I get home, and when I would like to eat. I also needed more liquid. I used the two cans of soup, and as some others suggested, used chicken broth instead of water. I used one can of broth. But I would probably add a can of water, too, next time. It seemed like there was enough liquid, but once I added the biscuits, they seemed to soak up some of the liquid. Thanks for a great recipe to add to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
It is thin bland and tasteless. It was better once I threw in some flour to thicken it up and added rice, cumin, parsley, carrots, and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was awesome. I see a lot of reviews that say this was awesome and then they changed the entire recipe. Ha. I kept everything the same except for the following: Instead of water, I added 16oz of chicken broth. I added black pepper, celery, and carrots(my kids are not escaping a meal without some veggies). I added ONE can of refrigerated biscuit dough and that was enough. I also broke up each piece of dough into halves and thirds. That is it. Everything else done exactly like the recipe. Delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very Good i used a Bag of frozin mixed veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It was very good! I did add a can of vegetable broth instead of the water. I also added a teaspoon of minced garlic and a tablespoon of parsley flakes. I served it with a side of peas. Five out of my seven kids really liked it... and it was the 2 and 3yr old who wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Chicken and dumplings turned out nice but the sauce just tasted like onion. If I make this again, I'm going to only use half an onion and maybe saute it up first so it dilutes the flavour. Definitely needed other spices as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aryn H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
We love this recipe. A few things we did differently. We added chicken stock instead of water and we added diced celery and carrots to the recipe. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States