Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I was so skeptical about this recipe. I'd never had chicken and dumplings before and the ingredients didn't sound all that impressive. I made it exactly as written, except I put the biscuit dough in about 2.5 hours prior to serving, rather than 30 minutes. Total cooking time was 6 hours. It was absolutely delicious. The chicken was so tender and infused with so much flavor and the dumplings came out perfectly. They tasted like biscuits that you sop up gravy with, except they are infused with the gravy flavor. This recipe is going in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
this is delish! I added two chopped carrots and two chopped celery stalks, along with poultry seasoning and pepper. substituted one can cream of mushroom for one of the cream of chickens and substituted chicken broth for the water. added one can of biscuits (not two cans as the recipe calls for) two hours before it was finished. it was so good served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe. I made some changes but to be fair i did taste it beforehand and it was good. I wanted a more creamy texture so i used up some heavy cream (1/2 cup) and instead of water i used chicken broth! It is good both ways though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
So easy - so yummy! Made it exactly as stated. Thought it would be bland but it wasn't. Put the biscuit dough in for 2 hours; was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very good! My hubby enjoyed it very much. I didn't do the dumplings though. I just put the frozen chicken in the pot with the other ingredients and let it cook on low for 8-10 hours and then made biscuits. When he got home from work he just put the chicken and broth over the biscuit. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Found the recipe a bit salty. I must remember to use only low sodium broth next time. Don't season chicken with salt at all! The duplings really clumped together on the top despite me trying to stir them through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is perfect exactly as written! I love reading reviews of how people tweak dishes to make them better, but this recipe didn't need tweaking. My Southern husband, son of the world's best cook, declared these to be perfect. You probably have already picked this up from other reviews, but I quarter the biscuit dough with a pizza wheel. This is going to be an often repeated recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This has great flavor, but 30 minutes did NOT provide enough time to cook the biscuits--even though I tore them. They all fused back together and created a big ball of dough. After an hour in the crock pot, I had to stick the gooey biscuits in the oven to ensure they cooked. When I make this again, I will only use one package in the crock pot and bake the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Due to the size of my cooker, I didn't follow the directions exactly, and it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a favorite for Gabby and Lenny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 5,469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States