Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I absolutely loved it, and ate it for left overs 3 days in a row, haha. I did make a few changes as well.... such as putting dumplings in for 90 minutes, adding a few extra seasonings.... but this is the perfect recipe that you can create easily and add or subtract things to your taste. Thanks Janiece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a great base recipe..and makes the house smell insanely good. As others have said, I used chicken stock instead of water. Seasoned the chicken pretty heavily with a garlic herb blend and some cayenne pepper. Cooked on high for first two hours, shredded the chicken at about five and a hours in, which was when I also added the biscuits - just one can of eight. Left it all on low until we ate and it was perfectly cooked..so that was probably another hour and a half. Served with green peas. Would be ideal to add veggies to the pot but I tell ya..there wasn't much room, thought it was going to overflow when I added the biscuits. Anyway, very good comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning, seasoning salt, pepper and a little cumin before I placed them in the slow cooker. I used Grands bisquits, and while they tasted good, they were definitely biscuits. It's been requested that next time I just serve the broth over egg noodles instead of adding the busquits, and I just used one can of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
We liked it but we believe it would be better with carrots and potatoes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was delicious!!! I added mixed veggies and used chicken broth instead of water, per other suggestions. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great recipe! I did use chicken broth instead of water. I did season it with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Awesome!! I add frozen veggies like some others said and spices or it's a little bland, I also add a bullion cube or two! Delicious!! It always overflows out of my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Love this recipe. I take the chicken out while the dumplings cook. Seems to make it go a little faster when the crock pot isn't as crowded. When the dumplings are done I shred the chicken up and add it back before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was quick and easy. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't change a thing. Would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this exactly like recipe, but did add the can of chicken broth. While the dumplings turned out perfect, I think adding the chicken broth made it too salty. I will make again, but will try to use low sodium soups and broth. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEIGHANNA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 5,407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States