Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made this for dinner, and it was super great! The only thing I did differently was that I added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables. If I were to make it again, I would make sue to press the biscuit dough down into the mix, so make sure that it got really dumpling-like. I might also add some spices, like black pepper or garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew W. Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danikono
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I'm a college student, and I found this recipe to be very easy. I did alter the recipe slightly. I love vegetables in chicken and dumplings, so I add carrots, potatoes, and celery. Also like a lot of other people, I used chicken broth instead of water. I decided to add some parsley along with salt and pepper. I changed the cooking time too. I let the chicken and veggies cook for 3 hours before putting the dumplings in. Then I cooked the dumplings for 90 minutes. I cut my biscuits in eighths and rolled them into a ball and told them in some flour. Make sure you keep the lid on while the dumplings are cooking or they won't come out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Easy to follow recipe that the family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
We tried this recipe last night, and it received a rousing thumbs up from all family members! The main thing I did as others suggested is that I added biscuits (cut into fourths with kitchen shears) after 4 hours of cooking, so the entire dish was in the crockpot for 6 hours total. I did shred the chicken before adding the biscuits. I did add about 1/4 tsp of ground black pepper and a bit of salt. This was a wonderful dish for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Very good but requires adjustments. Be sure to use full chicken breasts unless you want it to cook VERY quickly. Add seasonings to taste. Use1 pkg. thin biscuits and not BIG. Also roll out biscuits and cut into thin strips. Add biscuit strips about 2 hours prior to cooking completion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Buechler Messmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was very easy which was my main goal so I was pleased, but it definitely left a bit to be desired in the flavor. I will do again but add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
By the time the dumplings were done the chicken was over cooked. Served it with cranberry sauce and added cooked carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Excellent in concept, quantity & flavors needs tweaking. I'm living in a no kitchen due to renovations situation and using a slow cooker on my bathroom vanity. I have no proper utensils with which to prep so easy is essential therefore I appreciate the ease of this recipe enough to give it three stars. When I have a fully operational kitchen I'm busy cross analyzing a recipe from Julia Child and Americas test kitchen and making them come together. Water sounds like a really bad idea, broth is wise. Two cans of biscuit dough,( an we have really good appetites) is one too many. I grew up under the Queen of A la King, so I enjoy different soup flavors I used cream of celery and cream of chicken/mushroom combo. I did five hours on high,for the whole cook time. Added strips of buttermilk biscuits cut with my fabulous plastic knife at hour three. Added frozen peas at hour two and three quarters. PS- Not many kiddos enjoy onions. Per another reviewers suggestion I used the frozen chicken breasts and at five hours were nicely done and falling apart tender. The recipe has no added seasoning, spice which seems a bit odd. I added paprika and seasoned salt liberally at the beginning and again at hour four. Pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My family absolutely loved this meal! I seasoned my chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning & paprika.. left my breasts whole.. n put fresh pressed garlic on top with the butter. Mixed my soups with chicken broth n pouredd all over chicken. 2hrs before finishing i put the biscuit dough on top.. after cutting it in strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very Good. I didn't have cream of chicken soup so I used chicken broth and sour cream instead as well as a little black pepper and a few frozen peas for color. Turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 5,906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States