Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was easy and delicious. I followed the directions and ingredients almost the same as instructed. As previous reviews suggested, I did add my own spices (Tony Chachere's, cumin, paprika, garlic) and reduced-sodium chicken broth instead of plain water. The consistency was great and flavor reminded me of old family recipes. Kids and husband also loved it, we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was so bland and the chicken was dry. Cooking chicken breasts for 5-6 hours on high? Way to long. 3-4 hours is plenty. Also there's not enough liquid in this dish to thoroughly cook the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have made this recipe half dozen times now and it's always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Love the flavor and ease! This will be a regular. I read reviews before and agree do not use more than 1 can of biscuit and put them in at least 2 hrs before done. I also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Entire family loved it. Very easy to prepare. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
only got two stars due to being easy. tasted ok. not fantastic or good. just ok. Ive had so much better. a few note: 1. needs more water. 2. keep the dough frozen before putting in pot. 3. only use one can of soup and use half chicken stock and half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Kaczynski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Just wonderful! I did not use as many of the biscuits as directed, but wish now i had..i saved the other biscuits to pour the chicken soup on top of, and it was great! Will be a staple in my household now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very simple to make and delicious! I used the suggested chicken broth instead of water and added some seasonings. Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Biscuits took a long time to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Easy as pie. Actually easier (pie can be tricky). I'm rating this 5 stars even though I changed a few things. (changes/additions made based on personal preference) I added carrots and used bisquick because I had it. I followed the directions as stated, adding the carrots with the onions. I only used 2 chicken breasts (again because that is what I had). I took the chicken breasts out and shredded them about half way through cooking time. As other reviewers suggested, I added my Bisquick dough (made the "drop biscuit" recipe from the side of the box) about 1.5 hours before the end of cooking time and they finished fine. I can fit about 12-14 mini biscuits in my 7qt oval slow cooker. They blow up and by the end of cooking you can't see whats in there, but they were delicious. I don't normally care for Bisquick biscuits, but letting them cook for so long in the slow cooker makes them really soak up some of the soup mixture and gives them great flavor. If you are pressed for time/cash/ideas on a cold day, this is a great recipe. The prep is minimal and it turns out great every time. This gives you the warm-fuzzy-grandma made me dinner feelings without having to make anything from scratch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States