Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This turned out to be better than I expected. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it doesn't taste like true chicken and dumplings, and I felt I needed to make some changes: added a little seasoned salt and garlic powder. Also, I added LOTS of fresh carrots, and some onion and celery. I diluted the soup with chicken broth and water. While I was stirring it in the crock pot I thought it looked a little short and gloppy, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup diluted with water along with the two cans of cream of chicken. It was very good, and my family liked it a lot. The chicken was quite tender. This is great to use when you don't have time to cook. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
OMG! My wife tried this recipe exactly as stated and I fell in love with this dish. She can't make it enough. The nice thing about this recipe is its easy to make and does not take much time. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Yontz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
LOVE this!!! It is a huge hit with the family. Only deviations I make - instead of adding water I add about 1 can of chicken broth. And the biscuits never cook enough for me (maybe because I'm high altitude?) So I have a crock pot that actually lifts out of the burner section, so I cook it on high for about 4 hours. Then I go through and I shred all the chicken. I take the biscuit dough, I like to get the jumbo packs of biscuits and butter, and I rip them in half and roll them in balls (it usually takes me about 1 1/2 rolls). I fill the entire top with the dough, and then I push them all down slightly just so they are wettened on top with the broth. I let it sit for another 30-45 minutes in the crock pot so the dough rises. And then I put it in the oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes and it comes out PERFECT. Still nice and soft on the inside like dumplings but more filling on top like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Used canned Chicken, and minced onions because thats what I had. Was really good. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmstandish
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
So good- the chicken turns out incredibly tender and my kids even like it! I don't make any additions though I leave out the onion and I don't add any water. Trying it with some chicken broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I love the reviews and suggestions! That also is my favorite part so please do not stop! ;-) It really helps when you don't want to go to the store and work with what you have on hand, to see what worked and what didn't. This is a great recipe I have used before and I always add more spices to whatever I make--just my taste. But my family loves this recipe. So thank you for that ,and the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very delicious! I used chicken broth instead of water and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This worked great. I'm home from collage and I wanted to fix a meal for my family. We all loved it. It was easy I cooked it on low for 7-8 hours and added a bag of frozen vegetables. Instead of using all water I also added vegetable broth which enhanced to flavor. The dumplings where amazing. I made them with Bisquick mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States