Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The base recipe is perfect if you have picky children as mentioned. Kids who like plain foods will love this. It's something I would have loved as a kid. Unfortunately, I discovered that I love flavor and my kids will eat Thai, Japanese, seafood, and my son loves hot sauce. I used the original and a modified to see if I would like either. The original was just too plain. The modified one that I used was the woman who seasoned the chicken (I used garlic, onion powder and black pepper, no salt as the cream of chicken is already salty. I used the chicken broth, cream of chicken and cream of celery. It was just okay. The chicken was dry in both instances. It was a bit stringy. I couldn't figure out why. Some pieces were okay and some were just dry. The dumplings were good. If you have teenage boys, do not listen when they say that one canister of biscuits is enough, it's not. I had to cook more. Maybe because I didn't use Grands but the smaller version. Everyone liked the dumplings (not loved, just liked) and the sauce but no one liked the chicken. This one is probably one that I won't try again unless I locate a modification with a bit more flavor. However, the gravy and dumplings were decent and I threw in some more to cook (on high for an hour) since there is so much left over sauce. I'll eat dumplings for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Helen Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have told everyone about this recipe, it is great. I added fresh carrots and peas to it with some parisley. I wish I had known about this when my kids were young. They would have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Flavor is good but the dumplings are still doughy and falling apart. Not done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaci Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Turned out amazing. Didn't try the biscuit dough made dumplings from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Burrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just didn't work for me. Everything was fine until it came time to add the biscuits. I decided to cook them a bit longer as others suggested, about 90 minutes. Some cooked thoroughly, others just clumped together into a weird, sticky mess. The end result was extremely thick (but edible). It wasn't as great as I expected. I might try this again, maybe use a different brand of biscuits, and play around with the biscuit cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Mixed 1/2 c each chopped onion, carrot, and celery with large can cream of chicken soup, about half can of water, and 1 T bullion and rosemary before adding chicken. Used large can Grands Homestyle Buttermilk biscuits torn into bite sized pieces, added almost three hours before serving, on low. Sticks to your ribs, comfort food that's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My chicken was done in 4 hours. I won't use onion next time. It daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I needed to cook this longer than 6 hours, so I used chicken thighs instead of breasts. In addition, I used my homemade chicken broth instead of the water, and added some carrots and celery. I didn’t have any refrigerator biscuits, so I used the dumpling recipe on this site which is so easy and works beautifully. This is easy and delicious, perfect for a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Next time I'll use half the recommended biscuit dough and chicken broth instead of water as suggested by others. Perhaps some additional ingredients such as vegetables or potatoes would be a good idea as well. Great dish and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Great, the only change I made was to use 1/2 water/ chicken stock and only one can for dumplings, just the 2 of us. Janiece was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States