Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
A bit fatty, but it tastes amazing! Using a nutrition calculator (not the one on AllRecipes), I figured out that one serving of this recipe is 485 calories. Not awful, but nothing to brag about either. The main culprit is the biscuits, which contributes 225 of those 485 calories. So, what I do is that I serve 3 oz of mashed potatoes (per serving; actual mashed potatoes, not the powdered kind you add water to) in place of the biscuits. Doing so cuts a serving down to a pleasant 330 calories. You want to use about 2 pounds of raw chicken per 8 servings, which is 4 oz per serving. Add in some veggies on the side, and this meal is very nutritious and won't bust anyone's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was one of the best recipes I've ever made. So yummy everyone had seconds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countrystrng88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Yummy and will be adding to our dinner rotation. Cold wet day here and this hit the spot. Used chicken stock instead of water. Added frozen green beans the last 30 minutes. Accidentally opened a corn grands biscuits instead of regular so I threw it in. Added a nice sweetness that we liked. Never had chicken and dumplings so I don't have any reference to compare it to but boy was this good. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This recipe I'm going to do as soon as possible.The recipe when you read people even drooling.I'm sure it's going to be much good cooking.http://k7x.info/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halil öner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The recipe as written was terrible. The 2nd time was okay with some changes. I first seasoned the chicken breasts with pepper, garlic salt, and poultry seasoning. Then I used chicken broth instead of water. The dumplings were not even close to being done the first time, so I cooked them during the last two hours instead and it was much better. I think if I make this again, I would add some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Absolutely LOVED this recipe! It is so easy and so good. I added some sliced cremini mushrooms (because I really love mushrooms!) but I'm sure it's wonderful without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I've been making this recipe for years! The only thing different I do is use chicken broth instead of water to fill the crock pot. (Or I just add some bouillon cubes to the mix.)Sometimes I'll add frozen peas and carrots as well. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Quick and easy! My type of recipe! Love the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Great receipe. I added a little more seasoning like poultry seasoning, thyme, sage and a little salt and pepper. Instead of water, I used chicken broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,998) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States