Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This was great! I used only 1/2 tsp of cumin and chili powder so it wouldn't be too hot. And I threw in 2 whole chicken breasts and shredded them after they cooked. (the meat was so tender it just fell apart) My only change in the future will be to use tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas...it would be less work, same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was a great and easy recipe. However, it was on the spicy side, but that was my fault. I used southwestern seasoning on the chicken and accidently used "hot" enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good soup. A little spicy but everyone loved it. I have a picky 5 yr. old that tried it and loved it. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Muy bien! :-) My husband had never tried tortilla soup before and went back for seconds! I used a can of corn (juice and all) instead of frozen corn, and I added a can of Mexican Festival Rotel for added spice & flavor. I also used fully cooked, seasoned, shredded chicken (12 oz.) from the grocery store instead of cooking the chicken myself which saved a lot of prep time. We topped with the tortilla strips (I used red corn tortillas for color) and Mexican blend shredded cheese. It was definitely spicy, but we like it like that. This will be added to my list of perfect foods for a cold day! Thanks Elena! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I really enjoyed this soup - what a kick it has :) I served mine with a dollop of sour cream to take the bite off it but its delicious! A keeper. (I could have taken out the green chillies for less heat but it was still good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Yum Yum, the family loved it!!! My youngest who is 12 likes to add stuff and be creative with food, a future chef.. anyway she put a dollop of sour cream in her soup and it made it nice and creamy, tasted great that way too. I will eat mine like that from now on. The only thing I wish I would have done is to make a double batch!!!!! Oh, I also thought that throwing in some diced avocado might be tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was so easy to make and very delicious. I think next time I will add some beans to make the soup heartier. My husband, who isn't a soup kind of guy, loved it! I will definitely make this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
My family loved this soup! It wasn't too spicy for us (we love spicy), so next time I'll jazz it up a bit. Great flavor though and so easy. I, too, will probably just use tortilla chips next time to make it that much easier. We also topped our soup with a dollop of sour cream and used Mexican Taco cheese. Great for a dreary Fall day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
So delicious! I heeded the warning from other reviewers that the soup was a bit spicy, so I used mild enchilada sauce and mild green chiles. I also followed the suggestion of putting 2 whole raw chicken breasts in at the beginning and I'll continue to do it this way. The meat was so perfectly tender after 6 hours that I just shredded it with 2 forks. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Awesome recipe! My husband & I loved it! Made it exactly like the recipe except used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas. It is kind of an adult soup, my kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States