Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
We live in Mexico and this is AS CLOSE TO AUTHENTIC as possible. I love "cheater" recipes like this. Open a few cans, dump it in, and wa-la! In Mexico we buy the right variety of peppers, cook them down, throw them in the blender, etc to make meals like this. This saves all that hassle for a genuine taste. My entire family says it's as good as the tortilla soups served here in local restaurants. That's the highest compliment a recipe can be given! Don't bother cooking the chicken ahead of time. Throw it in with the rest in the beginning and shred it 2-3 hours later. Hint: serve with lime juice, a tsp of sour cream, chopped avocados, or pork rind along with the cheese to really eat it like a Mexican. BTW, I bought bagged tortilla chips and worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILKAHAD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was a hit! Super easy and very tasty. I threw in a couple of frozen chicken breasts rather than cooking them first and saved myself a step. (I shredded them towards the end.) I also used bagged tortilla chips instead of making my own. I'm all about "easy". :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2070 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe would be a little more authentic if you skip the canned enchilada sauce and instead made your own. VERY EASY. Take 3-4 large dried ancho chiles (cut off the stems and remove the seeds) and boil them with a cup or so of water, garlic and onion. After a half hour, whir it all together in your blender with a small can of tomato puree. Add some cumin if you like. Salt to taste. I live in Mexico, and believe me, there is NO such thing as canned enchilada sauce here. Also - the shredded or sliced chicken is usually added as a garnish here, not cooked in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Wonderful! Definitely cook the chicken in the soup as suggested by previous reviewers. This soup will only be hot and spicy if you use hot ingredients - I used mild enchilada sauce, etc. and my kids asked me to make it spicier next time - go figure! I also omitted the salt and used low salt products. Used a 2nd can of chicken broth in place of the water. Store bought tortilla chips are the way to go - try melting some sharp cheddar on the chips before adding to the soup along with a sprinkle of fresh cilantro and a dollup of sour cream - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was FABULOUS!!! I used 1 qt. of chicken stock in lieu of broth and water, tossed in 3 raw chicken breasts (shredding 3 1/2 hours after cooking on high in the slow-cooker), doubled the garlic, used frozen roasted corn (Trader Joe's) and added 2 cups cooked brown rice (added the same time as the shredded chicken). I topped each bowl served with shredded chedder, sliced green onions, a couple of cilantro leaves, the tortilla strips (be sure to make your own!) and chunks of ripe avocado. I also added a couple of shakes of Tapatio (hot sauce) to my own bowl as I wanted more kick than my husband - who had thirds. I can't wait to share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
547 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Amazing soup!! I took advise of other reviewers and added black beans - definitely a good idea. Also tossed in chicken still frozen and shredded about an hour before serving - worked like a charm. Just finished the leftovers yesterday and I can't wait to make again!! Tortilla strips are easier with cooking spray instead of oil and I like to add salt, garlic powder and a little cumin to them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe, unfortunately, is only worth two stars--barely. Too watery, too spicy, and tasted just like liquid enchiladas. And except for using broth instead of water, which really should have helped this, and black beans rather than corn, I prepared this as the recipe directed. I had to try and save it! To start with, I removed the majority of the liquid from the slow cooker and replaced it with chicken broth--better, but there still was no substance to the soup. So I cooked a cup of rice and added it to the soup at the end and...now we're talking! MUCH better--now it's FIVE stars. I topped each serving with sour cream, which really mellowed it out and added a rich creaminess, shredded cheddar cheese, and the tortilla crisps (which, by the way, didn't EVEN need 10-15 minutes so watch them carefully!) Now I had a soup that was not only palatable, but it was just delicious. But the effort I had to put into it to make it so was too much trouble, a waste of some ingredients, and just simply not worth it. The soup I ended up with was downright delicious--but it was not THIS recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Started this Friday morning for our church small group meeting Friday night. The house smelled great! I added a can of black beans (drained and rinsed) and 2 more cups of chicken broth to make it soupier. I put "sides" in bowls for guests to make their own versions (shredded cheese, fresh avocado, and sour cream). Used plain tortilla chips that guests could sprinkle over their own bowls, and made a pot of brown rice. Add a scoop of rice to your bowl, then put soup on top, then add your choice of sour cream, avocado, and/or cheese, and mix together. Yummy and great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is one of my favorite soup recipes. I didnt have any plain tomatoes so I put in a can of rotel with green chilies, a can of black beans and a can of white beans.I didnt think my kids would like it.They loved this soup.Its a no fail recipe. Thanks A +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Truthfully, I don't know why you would need a slow cooker if all of the ingredients are pre-cooked... And, it's probably true that the recipe is better than what you normally get in a restaurant, since most restaurant soups are from commercial package mixes (freeze dried ingredients)... Truthfully, if you wish to make a good recipe, you really should make the broth yourself and NEVER use canned chilies and canned broth, unless your idea of a wonderful soup is a heated brine solution... Ross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States