Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It was really good! The subs I did were chicken stock for the water and a squeeze of lime in each bowl when it was served. I added rinsed canned black beans. I also cooked the chicken breast in the soup and it shredded so easy. I also used mild everything since I have a kid that doesn't like spicy things and she loved it. I will be adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby4206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I love this soup and it is really easy to make. I use a large jar of hot salsa instead of the enchilada sauce for some added kick. This is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is late post but I'm thinking of making it again. I made this last year and it was the easiest thing to put together and was so delicious! My husband & daughters loved it. I knew this recipe was a keeper because even my picky eater of a daughter asked for seconds! Definitely recommend this one:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Flat out awesome. This is of the heartier variety than the glorified chicken broth that some call Tortilla soup, and it couldn't get any easier. I have not had soup at a restaurant that I would prefer over this one. I'm all for tweaks, but this one doesn't need to be messed with. Just make it as written and you won't be sorry. Now, if you want to make it even a bit easier, you can A) use precooked shredded chicken like you can get at Costco by the rotisserie chickens, or B) just use frozen chicken breasts, take them out about half way+ through, shred with 2 forks, and toss it all back in. I use about 1 1/2 pounds of chicken. We like the home made tortilla strips, but use store bought chips because I'm lazy. The shredded Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack cheese (not cheddar) and sliced avocado to add when serving is an absolute must. YUM! An across the board favorite with everyone in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe has WAY too many canned ingredients to be considered "home cooking". If you like canned goods, why not just buy a can of tortilla soup and bypass the cooking part? However, I will say that when I substituted the canned ingredients with some "very easy to make" products (and omitted the water), this came out pretty good. Also, in the traditional Mexican way of serving tortilla soup, the cooked chicken is overlaid atop each serving instead of being integrated into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe only rates three stars if you make it as written. You can bump it up to 5 stars by replacing the water with chicken broth and cooking the chicken breasts all day in the crockpot. Don't use cooked chicken it won't have enough flavor. I dump an entire 32 oz box of chicken broth in the crockpot since the crockpot cooks all day. (In fact I always double this recipe and freeze half for future meals when I make this soup.) When done ladle into bowls and add Mexican cheese and tortilla strips. Yummy! This is one of my family's favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Have made this a hundred times and it's always a winter favorite. Lots of corn and chicken and petite diced tomatoes make it so good. And it lasts for a few days since there are only two of us so it takes no time at all deciding what to make for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is my go to tortilla soup recipe now since it is so easy! I add a can of black beans and a can of white kidney beans as well. It's good with green or red enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Baker-Bayard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. Great because its so easy to prepare, and because it tastes fantastic. With that said, after making this recipe a couple times, I tuned a bit to my tastes. It is a tad watery, isn't spicy enough for me, and could be tad bolder IMO. So, here's the changes I made. I use 3 chicken breasts, or about 1 1/2 lbs worth. Also, I add three fresh diced jalapenos to give it a little kick. Double the enchilada sauce(my local grocery only carries mild) and use two cans of diced green chiles instead of one. Instead of adding the two cups of water, I just dump in a second can of chicken broth. Lastly, I throw in a packet of taco seasoning. Now we're talking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very delicious. Not as thick as a more traditional tortilla soup but a delicious broth based soup. My family loves it and super easy to make. I did read through other reviews and added a can of black beans as suggested and used lime juice. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States