Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Tastes great and is super quick and easy. My kids love it too! I took a tip from other reviewers and didn't cook the chicken first either and then I shredded it halfway in (or whenever I remembered to!) I also prefer diced tomatoes to the whole ones, but that's because I like the flavor dispersed and I want to make it hard for my kids to pick around them! For those finding it too watery, sub chicken broth for the water and make sure you have enough shredded chicken in there. It's easy to kick up the spices in this if you want more kick, but I think it's perfectly family friendly just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I just attempted making this soup for thr first time and WOW! Delicious and super easy. I made my own broth and added a scoop of cooked white rice to each bowl. Trust me, do not leave out the black beans(El Mexicano brand) and corn. Fresh tortilla strips is the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I added in 1 can of black beans. The enchilada sauce I used was medium and was the perfect amount of spice. Leftovers went in the freezer for a quick dinner after work. My grocery store always has the rotisserie chicken on sale and I keep all the other ingredients on hand so this is super quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
My family and I love this recipe, but we add cream cheese and/or sour cream to make it thicker & use it more as a hearty meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Absolutely loved it! To my surprise my son ate it all! Now that is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Good recipe. Live in Southern California and have spent tons of time in Mexico and I thought this had a very authentic taste, especially considering how easy it was. I made some changes based on what I had a available and our taste. I used a hot enchilada sauce and also added some hot sauce. We like spicy and this had some serious kick! I skipped the water and added more broth. I made this on the stove top. I added raw chicken breast to my broth and let it simmer on really low for a while, pulled it out and shredded it and then added it back in. We topped it with a little queso fresco, lime, cilantro, avocado and greek yogurt (in lieu of sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chadron, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great tasting soup, but be careful with the tortillas in the oven. The recipe says 10 to 15 minutes but if you leave them in that long they'll burn to a crisp. They only need about 7 minutes at 400 F. If you deep fry them instead of putting them in the oven they'll taste even better, but if the oil is too hot they'll burn in less than five seconds so be careful there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious! This recipe was so easy and the flavor was great. The husband and I scarfed it down. This will be our go-to dinner when the weather is chilly. Thanks Elena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Excellent. I added black beans and upped the heat using medium enchilada sauce. Also used low sodium chicken broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States