Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This soup is very good! The only change I made is that I only added 1 cup of water, and I am glad I did. It would have been to soupy for my tastes had I added 2 cups. Other than that I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is my go-to chicken tortilla soup recipe. I add a can of black beans and a can of corn, rather than the frozen corn. Serve with lemon or lime wedges, crush some tortilla chips into it and add some sour cream before serving. You can also add some shredded cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
After a little tweaking to better suit my own preferences I really liked this soup. I don't like anything too spicy so I cut out the chili peppers and cut down on the chili powder and cumin. I also added more chicken broth. I was nice to let it set in the crock pot all day and come home to a great smelling house and some tasty food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot and some of my family asks about when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So easy and good! I have used frozen and thawed chicken breasts and it works both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I use 2 extra cups of chicken broth instead of the 2 cups of water. It's my go-to recipe when I'm having a bunch of people over and I don't want to slave away on a dinner for hours. I also add some black beans to add a bit more protein to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Tortilla Soup is one of my favorite soups ever. This one BLEW me away... so delicious! My Honduran husband and I kept talking about how good it was. So flavorful :) We added more cilantro, squeezed lime in it, and a dollop of sour cream. Muy Bien.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I thought it was very bland. Next time I will use hot chili's and sauce, less water and more broth to see if it gives it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loved the flavor of this soup. It's a great base recipe. I'm making it again tonight and I'm adding in carrots, celery, and chayote. The original recipe seemed to be missing something... We wanted more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe rocks! One reviewer recommended putting the chicken in raw which makes even easier. I think I will try adding the black beans next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Curtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States