Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
We add cheese and sour cream in order to make it suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have made this several times and yes I changed some things. Yes using all chicken broth is better tasting for me and when I don't have any I'll use a few chicken bouillon cubes. U can pretty much add any vegetable and it's still good. I even added hominy one time and it was delicious. To the people commenting about this being terrible and Mexicans don't really do this and that and whatever. These are meant to be easy family friendly recipes. I am from Mexico and I am shocked at the amount of criticism this recipe got from people that say they are living there. Ok you have suggestions great! But there is no need to be mean. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years now. It is my favorite. I just put frozen chicken breast in the slow cooker and buy a bag of tortilla chips and crunch them on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very Tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Pacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I made the chili sauce the way a previous person suggested. I added 4 ancho chilies to a saucepan with water, 2 cloves of garlic and a quarter of an onion. I boiled it then threw it in the blender with a small can of tomato sauce. I added all of it to my soup. I increased the amount of cumin and salt to maybe twice what it asked for. I used cayenne pepper and doubled what the recipe asked for as well. It had a nice spicy kick. I served it with some sliced avocado and muenster cheese. I am Hispanic and felt this recipe tasted very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious & super easy. Be sure to garnish as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a favorite in our house, it's SO good!! I add a can of black beans (rinsed). Also I'm not a huge corn fan, so I only add a cup of frozen and then also add a red pepper-diced and a cup of diced carrots. If I want to speed up the recipe for a non slow cooker meal, I sauté all the veggies until tender and use a rotisserie chicken. When I do slow cook I put in whole pieces of breasts and thighs and just let them fall apart in the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Perkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is the ONLY tortilla soup recipe I will make. I never even liked tortilla soup until this recipe, now ALL my friends and family request it! I make only minor changes, like I use petite diced tomatoes and add a can of Ranch Style beans (OMG)! Also I use a small can of red and a small can of green enchilada sauce. Sometimes I serve it over a scoop of Mexican rice. YUM! Top it off with fresh ripe avo's, cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips and you will be the happiest person on the planet! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
East and awesome! I made with a side of rice and it was filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Our whole family loved this soup. Only changes I made were to sub Rotel for the tomatoes and green chiles, add black beans, and use all chicken broth instead of water. I also put the chicken breasts in raw and shredded them at the end. Only complaint is that it didnt make enough. We have a family of 4 and we each had a bowl and there were no leftovers. If you want leftovers or have a larger family, you may want to consider doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States