Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for my family tonight. my husband and 12 yr old son thought it was bland and lacked flavor, I think next time add more seasonings to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a very easy soup. I gave it 4 stars because I used an 11 oz can of corn and it was way too much corn. I also would use chicken broth next time instead of the water. You don't have to have cooked chicken on hand - you can cut boneless skinless chicken into spoonful sizes and add to crock pot. Cook for 4 hours on high. I also added cooked shrimp about an hour before done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Super easy and I was actually surprised I had made it because it turned out so well. The only alterations I made were: used fresh roma tomatoes (chopped and squished), put chopped raw chicken breast straight into the slow cooker, left out the bay leaf, and used tortilla chips to top. It came out perfectly. Husband had quite a bit of it for dinner and he's usually not a huge soup person. I used a can of hot red enchilada sauce and it added a bit of a kick but wasn't too spicy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Substituted black beans for the corn but kept everything else the same. My family liked it so much they want it regularly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
WONDERFUL! Made it as written (except added a can of black beans)...the lime really made it extra yummy! I put some lime juice in the crock pot and also on the soup in our bowls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Solid base. Needed more flavor and something to make it more filling. So i added to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
To go with the easy method (which is great) I skip the extra water and add another can of broth. I don't us a crock pot as this works just fine on the stove top in under 90 minutes. I don't precook the chicken. I use a half quartered skinless chicken raw with half breast, a thigh, and a leg. Take the chicken out after an hour, discard the bones, and shred, then put back in for another 30 minutes. When I have more time I roast a chicken the day before and have half for that dinner, remove skin from other half and save remaining meat for soup. Boil the other leftover carcass with onions and celery for the broth. There is so much more flavor in fresh broth and meat roasted on the bone. Either way, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
WONDERFUL!!! I am not a soup eater, just reminds me of being sick as a kid and eating chicken noodle soup, eeeew! But this soup I can't get enough of. I make a huge pot and freeze individual bags for later. Best tortilla soup recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is great! I didn't follow recipe exactly. I used 1 1/2 raw chicken breast, all chicken broth- no water, and no tortillas- didn't have in the house. I have to say, that this will become a main stay during the colder monthes. I am going to try using more chicken breast and frozen chopped peppers and onions (instead of corn)- to make an awesome chicken taco filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really easy ... I also just stuck the frozen chicken breasts in and shredded latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States