Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe ranks right up there with restaurants. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Amazing! I didn't want to share the leftovers... and I'm not too fond of leftovers! So thank you so much for this recipe for the flavor and for the convenience of the Crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
LOVE THIS! I added some hot sauce to kick this up a bit (we eat a lot of Cajun dishes here). I even used hot enchilada sauce! I also added some leftover cooked brown rice and black beans, found I needed more chicken broth because the rice sucked up so much. Next time I make this I'm adding cayenne pepper, but otherwise it was a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is great soup. I did not have enchilada sauce so i added more cumin, chili powder, and tomato sauce. I also added a little oregano. I added black beans and it gave the soup a more filling feel. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I found this a good base recipe. Like some other reviewers, I wouldn’t have found this to be a WOW without some adjustments. So as a base … it’s a solid 4 star. Make it your own and you’ll give it the big 5! My additions were: black beans, 1 packet of taco seasoning, Rotelle (instead of crushed tomatoes) and zero water … chicken broth all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoeticLisence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
First, I will say this IS easy. But all too often the easiest route is not always the best route to take.It is true in both life & cooking. Skipping key steps almost always ends up in missed flavor development. For ANY dump and go crock pot recipe there will always be a huge MISSED opportunity for capturing depth and full flavor.Sure, you can take short cuts, like using SOME canned ingredients on a busy day. BUT I always take the 5 minutes to season the meat PRIOR to cooking. In this case I season cut up ( bite size)boneless skinless chicken thighs with 1/2t.to 1t. each. Cumin, Garlic Powder, Oregano and chili powder. If I am short on time, I cut the chicken up, season it and either place in the fridge or freezer till I can get to it. HUGE flavor sinks into the meat. Then I NEVER just dump. Instead I take just 15 more minutes to brown the meat in some oil. Onions and fresh peppers, and garlic can be browned in the last few minutes. Color equals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Take2Bake
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used this recipe more as a basic outline substituting the closest resembling ingredients with what I had on hand. Like everyone else, I added two raw chicken breasts. I had a bad experience once with enchilada sauce so I used 8 ounces of Wolfgang Puck's arribiatta marinara sauce. I used one can of black beans drained, not rinsed and one can of corn not drained. I use one can of diced tomatoes instead of whole peeled and one green bell pepper, instead of green chilies. I added about 3 tablespoons maybe 4 of chicken paste about 4 cups of water (didn't measure) and one can of tomato paste. It was not watery at all. The rest of the spices I use were the same except I had no cilantro, I added 3 small bay leaves, I don't usually use black pepper so I didn't & I forgot to put in garlic. I am a huge garlic fan and always like a pungent garlic flavor so I always save fresh garlic until the last five or 10 minutes. This time I was so excited to taste it, I forgot to put the garlic in. I just shredded the chicken and enjoyed myself with some sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled restaurant-style tortilla chips. I still enjoyed the flavor. My five-year-old enjoyed it as well. So glad to have another easy winter staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Take2Bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
One of my favorite recipes. As with other reviewers, I throw in a frozen chicken breast in the morning and shred it later. Using tortilla chips is a bit easier, but I much prefer making strips from the corn tortillas. They really add to the flavor and texture of the soup, much more so than the chips. I also like to add a little shredded cheese as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good, taco-spicy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Wonderful!! I doubled the recipe and before it was done I added MASA DUMPLINGS and let it finish cooking. My Mexican Heritage family loved it! My husband said it was the best he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States