Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did not do it in the slow cooker but I simmered it to perfection in consistency. Husband really loved it. Feel free to tweak to your preferences such as home made this or fresh verses canned that. It is very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Good to try- freezes well. Reduce the amount of water and used a can of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Prepared this for the family last night. I followed the suggestions from many reviewers and tossed uncooked chicken into the crockpot. About midway through the day, I took the meat out and shredded it, returning it to the pot for the rest of the day. Everybody went back for seconds. That was all I needed know. Yep, this one is a winner! I'm sure, as some of the more critical reviewers point out, it could be improved by changing out certain ingredients, but for those of us who don't have enough time to make enchilada sauce from scratch or prepare fresh tomatoes, recipes like this are a such a welcome gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I used this recipes to make dinner today and my family loved it. I did not substitute anything because I was nervous to ruin it. It could of used an extra kick of something (spicy) but I thought it would be too spicy with the green chile peppers. So now I know that for next time. I did make the chips from scratch with the tortillas which made a big difference versus the regular tortilla chips you buy at the store. We also added sour cream, lime and avocados to top it off on our bowls. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good. Followed recipe except I did not add corn. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The whole family loved it, including my 10 and 14 year olds! I added 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice before serving and salted the tortillas before baking. I agree it could use a little less water. Next time I make it I'll only put in 1 cup of water. I also added the black beans and used fresh chicken breasts and let them cook in the soup. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Nice refreshing soup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I may have guessed on the chicken broth amount, and had to use dried cilantro but this turned out very good. I think using diced tomatoes next time will make it a bit better for me. I also topped it with a dollop of sour cream and some shredded cheese which I really think helped this soup out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made this several times now and it just keeps getting better. You can play with the ingredients a bit but it's really not necessary. Perfect just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this tonight and we loved it! We normally buy Chicken Tortilla Soup at a local favorite when they sell it, but I think we are done doing that since this was so much better and cheaper to make ourselves! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States