Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is the ONLY tortilla soup recipe I will make. I never even liked tortilla soup until this recipe, now ALL my friends and family request it! I make only minor changes, like I use petite diced tomatoes and add a can of Ranch Style beans (OMG)! Also I use a small can of red and a small can of green enchilada sauce. Sometimes I serve it over a scoop of Mexican rice. YUM! Top it off with fresh ripe avo's, cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips and you will be the happiest person on the planet! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannonhb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
East and awesome! I made with a side of rice and it was filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Our whole family loved this soup. Only changes I made were to sub Rotel for the tomatoes and green chiles, add black beans, and use all chicken broth instead of water. I also put the chicken breasts in raw and shredded them at the end. Only complaint is that it didnt make enough. We have a family of 4 and we each had a bowl and there were no leftovers. If you want leftovers or have a larger family, you may want to consider doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
So so delicious !! One of our favorite meals !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We loved this recipe, I don't recommend cooking for 8 hours. Should've turned it off after 6.5/7 hours. I also put the chicken in raw, not cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used this recipe as a "base" to clean out some pantry items. Great results for my first try at tortilla soup! It made me think of Boston Market's tortilla soup, which I haven't had in years. I used can corn instead of frozen. I did not have canned tomatoes on hand, but subbed in three fresh, peeled tomatoes. I "made" enchilada sauce out of a can of mild Rotel tomatoes, red pepper flakes, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and canola oil, which I blended down in a 2 cup measuring cup using an immersion blender. I added the suggested can of black beans mentioned by other reviewers (another pantry item utilized!). Also, I did not want to use 1/2 of a 32 ounce container of broth, so I used the whole container to boil my chicken breasts, pouring all of the liquid into the slow cooker and omitting the 2 cups water. We served it with tortilla chips from Costco that we had on hand. And, I didn't have a bay leaf or cilantro, but it still came out great. It really helped me knock out a few extras I had laying around with tremendous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe for picky eaters. Season it mildly then everyone can add their own zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I am IN LOVE with this soup!! Followed this recipe almost to a tee. I omitted 1/2 tsp of salt, added 2 cups of drained black beans that had been cooked from a previous dinner, and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. I ended up using 3 raw chicken breasts and cooked the whole deal in a cast iron dutch oven on my stove for 6-8 hrs at around 2-low temp. Shredded the chicken about 3-4 hrs in. My whole house smelled amazing! I followed the directions for the tortilla strips exactly and they turned out great! When it was serving time, I placed a few strips in the middle of the bowl with a dollop of sour cream in the center, cilantro for garnish, a couple slices of avocado and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Absolutely scrumptious!! I wanted to eat the whole pot! Thank you, thank you! I will make this over and over again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Fantastic and easy. There's not much more to it. I had this in for 6 hours exactly. Started with frozen chicken tenders, which I shredded at about the 4-hour mark. Am VERY excited to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Took shortcut by using Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies. This was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States