Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe! My only change was to make original enchilada sauce as one reviewer described. It really improves the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have tried several chicken tortilla soup recipes and this is my fav! Bonus that it's so easy. My only modification is to add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent recipe! I used all broth instead of water, green enchilada sauce and used 1 can regular tomatoes and 1 can Rotel, tomatoes with peppers. And added 1 cup of Guy Fieri's green sauce to give it more spice. I also took about a cup and a half of broth and put it in a blender with about 20 tortilla chips and blended until smooth then added to soup. This acted as a thickener and gave the soup a nice body & subtle corn background flavor. This will definitely become part of our staple "go to" meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I think this recipe is great! I of course tweaked it a bit. I added I can of corn, one can of black beans, the juice of about 1 lime, and about one tablespoon tapatio. When finished I topped with shredded Mexican cheese, a dallop of sour cream, fresh sliced avocado and crushed tortilla chips on top. Its delicious and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
not too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
The best Chicken Tortilla soup I have ever made. The second time I substituted black beans for corn and added a can of Rotel chilies with cilantro and lime. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ann Ahlstedt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor Robinson
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Followed the recipe completely (except no chicken) Family absolutely loved it so much they went back for thirds. Wouldn't change anything about this recipe, and next time will definitely make sure to make enough chicken to add to this dish! Will make again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Absolutely amazing. I made it with very few adjustments. I used homemade chicken broth instead of canned and used twice the amount and only 1 cup of water. I also used homemade stewed tomatoes (which I chopped). I added some black beans, too (my family loves them). I threw the chicken in the pot whole and left it all day on low, pulled it out and shredded it when I got home, added it back in with some cilantro (I used a lot of cilantro - we really like it - about 1/4 of a cup). Gave it a good stir, got the bowls out and served it with a good squeeze of lime (a MUST! Do not skip. I know for Americans this sounds strange, but you will LOVE it.), and little shredded cheese on top (personal preference), a small dollop of sour cream for some of us. My family adds crunched tortilla chips, but I like it without them. This is really amazing soup and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I changed it up a bit. Used half the amount of water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I cooked the chicken in the soup and shredded it when I got home. Before serving I added a handful of crumbled, store-bought, tortilla chips and a couple tablespoons of a mix of shredded mozzarella, Jack and cheddar to each bowl. Filled the bowls with the soup, then topped with chopped avocado, cilantro and some more shredded cheese. Absolutely delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is GREAT!!! you can use any kind of cooked chicken you want. Instead of making the tortillas... I crumble up corn chips over top of prepared bowl, squeeze a little lime in it, and add shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States