Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I loved it. I've never tried chicken tortilla soup before but it reminded me of vegetable soup the only difference is the little spice and the chicken. The only thing I would change is when baking the tortilla the recipe calls for 10-15 minutes (my burnt within that time). 5 minutes was good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is my go to for tortilla soup, I absolutely love it and so does the family. I use the HATCH enchilada sauce with green chiles so it is nice and blended. I usually buy a roasted chicken from the grocery store and shred it, just one less step I guess. We top it with avocado and Jack cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Wonderful soup! We usually skip the tortilla part and just do the soup. Very delicious and very easy. I love a recipe that calls for whole conatiners of items. 1 can of this 1 can of that, dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
First time making homemade soup, and this was a good choice. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time. It smelled so delicious slow cooking all evening! I would suggest keeping a close eye on the tortilla strips baking in the oven, mine were done long before the 10-15 minutes listed on the recipe.....and they added a nice crunchy garnish to the soup. I also took the suggestion from another reviewer, and added a squirt of lime and some shredded cheese (I have used reduced fat sharp cheddar, and 4 cheese Mexican, and loved each bowl) on top before serving. This soup was worth the wait, will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My family enjoyed this and I will make again. I thought 10 oz of corn was too much and I will decrease by half the next time I make it. I used 1/2 of a small can of tomato paste instead of the tomatoes (my clan hates tomato pieces in anything) and I thought this gave the soup nice body--less watery than as written? This soup is easily kicked up with whatever spices you like, and cheddar, lime tortilla chips, lime juice, cilantro and sour cream for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is the best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe! My only change was to make original enchilada sauce as one reviewer described. It really improves the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have tried several chicken tortilla soup recipes and this is my fav! Bonus that it's so easy. My only modification is to add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent recipe! I used all broth instead of water, green enchilada sauce and used 1 can regular tomatoes and 1 can Rotel, tomatoes with peppers. And added 1 cup of Guy Fieri's green sauce to give it more spice. I also took about a cup and a half of broth and put it in a blender with about 20 tortilla chips and blended until smooth then added to soup. This acted as a thickener and gave the soup a nice body & subtle corn background flavor. This will definitely become part of our staple "go to" meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States