Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This soup was excellent! Husband and I enjoyed it the first day, put remainder in the freezer and it was wonderful again! Best kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somalley
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made it several times. The only change I made is that I use a 32 oz organic low salt chicken stock instead of the can and water. I also add black beans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for my family tonight. my husband and 12 yr old son thought it was bland and lacked flavor, I think next time add more seasonings to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a very easy soup. I gave it 4 stars because I used an 11 oz can of corn and it was way too much corn. I also would use chicken broth next time instead of the water. You don't have to have cooked chicken on hand - you can cut boneless skinless chicken into spoonful sizes and add to crock pot. Cook for 4 hours on high. I also added cooked shrimp about an hour before done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Super easy and I was actually surprised I had made it because it turned out so well. The only alterations I made were: used fresh roma tomatoes (chopped and squished), put chopped raw chicken breast straight into the slow cooker, left out the bay leaf, and used tortilla chips to top. It came out perfectly. Husband had quite a bit of it for dinner and he's usually not a huge soup person. I used a can of hot red enchilada sauce and it added a bit of a kick but wasn't too spicy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Substituted black beans for the corn but kept everything else the same. My family liked it so much they want it regularly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
WONDERFUL! Made it as written (except added a can of black beans)...the lime really made it extra yummy! I put some lime juice in the crock pot and also on the soup in our bowls :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Solid base. Needed more flavor and something to make it more filling. So i added to it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
To go with the easy method (which is great) I skip the extra water and add another can of broth. I don't us a crock pot as this works just fine on the stove top in under 90 minutes. I don't precook the chicken. I use a half quartered skinless chicken raw with half breast, a thigh, and a leg. Take the chicken out after an hour, discard the bones, and shred, then put back in for another 30 minutes. When I have more time I roast a chicken the day before and have half for that dinner, remove skin from other half and save remaining meat for soup. Boil the other leftover carcass with onions and celery for the broth. There is so much more flavor in fresh broth and meat roasted on the bone. Either way, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
WONDERFUL!!! I am not a soup eater, just reminds me of being sick as a kid and eating chicken noodle soup, eeeew! But this soup I can't get enough of. I make a huge pot and freeze individual bags for later. Best tortilla soup recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States