Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! Tasted amazing and it was SUPER easy! You must try this. It will be one of my regular winter dishes now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny Ruiz
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! This recipe was so easy and ready in about 5-6hrs. Just don't forget to serve with a lime wedge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was a great soup. I did make a few changes though. I used raw chicken breasts which I think is crucial in getting the meat tender. I wouldn't use pre-cooked. I shredded the chicken after about 3 1/2 hours and then put the meat back in. I also used only 1 cup of water, but an extra cup of chicken broth (low sodium). Next time I'll probably only use the broth and no water. I didn't have enchilada sauce on hand so I used a can of thick salsa (smooth, not chunky). I also added some celery and diced red bell pepper. Additionally, based on other reviews, I added a can of black beans. When I served the soup I topped it with shredded Mexican blend cheese and avocado and warmed up some corn tortillas to eat with it. Delicious! My husband has been sick and said it was just what the doctor ordered :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I did not use the slow cooker. And I changed a few ingredients but the basic recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe and although the flavors were great, the soup was extremely salty. We are not a low sodium family but we actually had trouble eating this. I will definitely make this again but cut the salt way down! Can always add more at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very good! Might add some rice to it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We used sea salt instead of regular salt and it had more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ontaya Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Love this! It's so easy, especially with left-over chicken. To make it even easier, instead of making our own tortilla strips we crushed up some tortilla chips. While it is good on its own, I like to add a dollop of sour cream and a bit of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a good recipe to start with and can be tweaked to your liking. I followed others' tips and added beans (I used white beans) and just threw in frozen chicken tenderloins instead of pre-cooking. A jar of salsa is a great sub for the canned tomatoes. I also stirred in a can of refried beans at the end, which really thickened it up and kicked it up to 5-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is such a yummy soup!! I took the advice of other reviews and added a can of rinsed black beans and the soup turned out great. I did accidentally buy green enchilada soup though, but I think it added a nice zest. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States