Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Too watery. I didn't even add all the water which it called for. I think as I eat the leftovers, I will add rice to it. And probably cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I thought it was great but I did make a mistake and added jalapeno peppers I could not eat the soup but it was a smash with my family and our neighbors I also entered it in a soup contest at work I brought it in to late to be judged but it was the first soup gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryjen56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! My type of recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Amazing soup, and it was a very easy recipe to use! I will use this one again. My whole family loved it and went back for seconds. I didn't have the ready to use enchilada sauce, but had a McCor**** Enchilada sauce mix, which worked out fine. I added a whole can of reduced sodium black beans, rinsed thoroughly, and shredded cheese for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
It was really good! The subs I did were chicken stock for the water and a squeeze of lime in each bowl when it was served. I added rinsed canned black beans. I also cooked the chicken breast in the soup and it shredded so easy. I also used mild everything since I have a kid that doesn't like spicy things and she loved it. I will be adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby4206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I love this soup and it is really easy to make. I use a large jar of hot salsa instead of the enchilada sauce for some added kick. This is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is late post but I'm thinking of making it again. I made this last year and it was the easiest thing to put together and was so delicious! My husband & daughters loved it. I knew this recipe was a keeper because even my picky eater of a daughter asked for seconds! Definitely recommend this one:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Flat out awesome. This is of the heartier variety than the glorified chicken broth that some call Tortilla soup, and it couldn't get any easier. I have not had soup at a restaurant that I would prefer over this one. I'm all for tweaks, but this one doesn't need to be messed with. Just make it as written and you won't be sorry. Now, if you want to make it even a bit easier, you can A) use precooked shredded chicken like you can get at Costco by the rotisserie chickens, or B) just use frozen chicken breasts, take them out about half way+ through, shred with 2 forks, and toss it all back in. I use about 1 1/2 pounds of chicken. We like the home made tortilla strips, but use store bought chips because I'm lazy. The shredded Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack cheese (not cheddar) and sliced avocado to add when serving is an absolute must. YUM! An across the board favorite with everyone in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe has WAY too many canned ingredients to be considered "home cooking". If you like canned goods, why not just buy a can of tortilla soup and bypass the cooking part? However, I will say that when I substituted the canned ingredients with some "very easy to make" products (and omitted the water), this came out pretty good. Also, in the traditional Mexican way of serving tortilla soup, the cooked chicken is overlaid atop each serving instead of being integrated into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe only rates three stars if you make it as written. You can bump it up to 5 stars by replacing the water with chicken broth and cooking the chicken breasts all day in the crockpot. Don't use cooked chicken it won't have enough flavor. I dump an entire 32 oz box of chicken broth in the crockpot since the crockpot cooks all day. (In fact I always double this recipe and freeze half for future meals when I make this soup.) When done ladle into bowls and add Mexican cheese and tortilla strips. Yummy! This is one of my family's favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States