Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is my recipe and I am thrilled you all are loving it! Here is the recipe for Bill Echols Taco Seasoning. It really makes this recipe. 1 tablespoon chili powder 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder 1/4 teaspoon onion powder 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano 1/2 teaspoon paprika 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin 1 teaspoon sea salt 1 teaspoon black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4006 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I wasn't sure about making this as I hate beer and no one in my house drinks it. I also don't like very spicy foods. However, I took a chance and used Heineken for this recipe as well as the taco seasoning and tomatoes with chilies and the soup was DELICIOUS. I couldn't detect a "beer" taste in the soup at all and found it to be a bit on the mild side. Everyone in my family loved it. I made another pot for tailgating - it was the most popular dish - everyone wanted seconds and the recipe. It's easy to put together. You could easily substitute chicken broth, as many people have, and leave off the cheese and sour cream (or use reduced calorie products)and use baked chips to make it more diet friendly. I put mine in the crock pot before going to bed. The chicken was frozen when I put it in the pot. The next morning, it was so well cooked, I didn't have to take it out and shred it. All I had to do is "grab" each breast a couple of times with tongs and the chicken just fell apart. Then I gave it a good stir and that's all it took to shred it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1965 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I brought this to my Texas Holdem Poker nite. Everyone liked it. Im on a budget of 20 dollars. So I only used 4 chicken breast, doubled the recipe, added water no beer or chicken broth ( the chicken makes its own in the water) doubled everything else. You need large crockpot. Just threw everything in the crockpot. Took chicken out about 4 or 5 hours later cut it up threw back in. Also added a little cumin and chilli powder next time I will add a little cilantro. Served it with nacho chips. Sour cream and cheese would have been good with it though. Served a crowd and was under my 20 dollar budget. And even after cutting the chiken back there was still a good amount in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very good! I cooked this for 10 hours instead of 5 (since I was at work) & it turned out great. I followed advice from other reviewers & added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp cummin & 4 T taco seasoning. Used pinto beans instead of chili beans and added a full 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. I also added about a teaspoon of sugar at the end - I felt the beer gave it a weird bite or bitter taste. Next time I'll skip the beer and just add chicken broth in it's place. Defintely needs a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheddar, but overall a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Five stars for quick, easy, and tasty. Plus, I already had everything in the house. I left out the beer and used one cup homemade chicken broth instead. I used two chicken breasts and that seemed like a good amount. I also used fire-roasted frozen corn from Trader Joe's (instead of canned). Garnished with light sour cream and fresh cilantro, and served with tortilla strips for dipping! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
People are really getting on my nerves saying "Leave out the beer!" No, do not leave out the beer. USE THE CORRECT KIND OF BEER!!! You need to use a DARK, MEXICAN BEER, not your husband's Natty Light, Miller Lite, Colt45 or whatever it is people have been using. This is an excellent recipe, I urge people to not leave out "key ingredients".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsMeAmberE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is an easy, GREAT recipe ... especially if you use about 1 1/2 pounds chicken tenders in place of the boneless breasts BUT ... FORGET THE BEER! Next time I'll use a can of chicken broth. Beer gives an unusual flavor that we did NOT care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This soup is not bad. It needs more seasoning. I added some chili powder, cumin, flaked red pepper, salt, and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is a great recipe, low in fat and full of fiber. Yummy!!! It made alot and would be great when you have guests over for dinner. I did make a couple of changes based on previous reviews. I left out the onion because my family doesn't like it. I left out the beer and added 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1/2 cup of chicken broth (both FF). I used lowfat sourcream and reduced fat mexican cheese and lowfat tortilla chips when serving the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is an incredible soup! I made mine on top of the stove, and was sooooo happy with it! The only thing I did differently was add 1 lb. of browned ground beef and a 15 oz can of beef broth. I substituted a 6 oz can of tomato paste and 3 cans of water for the tomato sauce - but other than that, it was the same. It is awesome with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States