Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
The kids said it's good enough to make again.....definitely, so I put it in my recipe box. I made the taco seasoning mix as the author of the recipe suggested because it's just so darn easy. I made extra seasoning so tonight, when I'm making this soup again, the seasoning is ready to go. I used chicken broth instead of beer and served the soup with tortilla chips, grated cheese, sour cream, and avocado on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Made this to the recipe. I did not however make the taco seasoning. First off I used st Arnold Christmas ale. We could definitely taste the bitterness and smell the beer smell. I will most likely either leave it out next time and add broth or buy Guinness, I am told that is a good one to cook with. So if you are worried about the beer, as I was, that is my take on it. I also think you should make the taco seasoning they suggest you add instead of the packaged stuff. Next time I will also do that. My husband added spices to his liking around the point I needed to take the chicken out to shred it. It needed salt badly and cumin and garlic. Although they were in the seasoning I added, it wasn't enough. For those who want to know if frozen chicken is ok.. go for it! Mine turned out perfect for shredding. I did however set it to high for the first hour then turned it low for the remainder. If you are a garnish person or like toppings this soup is wonderful with sour cream, avocado, shredded cheese and tortilla chips. even some cilantro. 5 stars for a crowd pleaser and overall very delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Hillin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
this is a keeper . I use chicken broth instead of beer. I add 1 tsp cumin, chili powder & garlic powder. I use red kidney beans instead of black & chili beans. If I am not around I do the shredding of the chicken at the very end. the family loves it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made it twice so far, the first time as written and the second time using half the amount of beer and substituting chicken broth for the other half. Both were delicious. This is an easy, great tasting recipe and is great for the colder months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Pretty good - did not stray from recipe, other than cooking it for 10-11 hours while i was at work. Came out nice. Used one can of Hot rotel and one of original rotel - if i were to do it again i would use both hot rotels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is a good soup but I thought the beer was unnecessary. Wish I would have used water or broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Musser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Best soup I've ever made! If you want Mexican without the bloated feeling and guilt.... Go for this soup, it was amazing! I used bacon crumbs for additional garnish and it really added more awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
My whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! I've been looking for a good chicken tortilla recipe and this is wonderful. My family loves it ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. Used Modelo Especial as the beer (light Mexican beer), drained/rinsed both cans of beans, and used the Bill Echols taco seasoning. It had a great flavor with the perfect amount of spice! I'm from Texas, and this was as good as my favorite TexMex restaurant tortilla soup. I used three frozen chicken breasts, left it all in the crockpot for 8 hours on low and 1 hour on warm (waiting for guests to arrive). I shredded the chicken straight in the crockpot instead of dirtying another dish. I had avocado slices, pico de gallo (premade at HEB), chopped cilantro, tortilla chips, and shredded cheddar for guests to add as toppings. And last but certainly not least, I squeezed half of a key lime over each serving - really gives it a nice fresh zing! Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 4,294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States