Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This a great base recipe that is super easy! I did make a few changes. I cooked the chicken with Italian dressing, as the recipe calls for. There was enough juice that cooked out of the chicken. It does not need any other liquid added at this stage. I also added half a chopped onion at this point. I started with about 1 1/3 lb. chicken. Once I chopped it up, was a lot of meat and was worried that one can of soup was not enough. I started with a can of cream of mushroom and 1/2 the cream cheese. I planned to add sour cream as others suggested. It tasted great but not enough sauce. I then added a can of cream of chicken as the recipe calls for. This totally changed the taste. Was much better before this. I also found it a tad bit bland and needed extra seasoning. I will make this again. Will add 2 cans of cream of mushroom and omit cream of chicken. Will also add a second pack of Italian dressing to compensate for the extra sauce, and add more flavor. I don't believe sticking with all the cream cheese or adding sour cream really makes much of a difference. Overall, we really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was so easy and truly a winner. It was about 10 hours before we got home to finish this and it was still great. We only had macaroni noodles on hand but it worked really well to just mix them in. And... it had really good flavor (judged by the fact that my husband didn't add anything to it; no salt and pepper, red pepper flakes or hot sauce - his usual standards).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this at work for a potluck. I was able to find all the ingredients at a nearby store (T*****) :) I doubled the recipe, and cooked it on high for 3.5 hours (NO lifting of the lid). After reading the reviews I only used half the amount of cream cheese. I changed nothing else. It cooked perfectly, falling apart (but still intact) tender little bites of chicken. I did check with a thermometer and it was up to temperature - 165 degrees. It was gone in 1 hour. I will say, there was too much sauce for the chicken, no big deal, but I might use half the amount of soup next time. I think this would be good with Rotel too. It's important to use the .7 ounce packet of Italian dressing mix, not the other size. I even got a compliment and a request for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I also resisted the urge to add liquid or soup in the beginning,the butter and dressing packet did great for 5 hrs,didnt get dry at all and the chicken was nicely browned...I did add a container of sliced fresh mushrooms with the soup about 30 minutes prior to adding cream cheese. It was amazing!!! So good,put it over rice. I will absolutely make this again,so easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I did not find it to be too salty. I did, however, find it to be a little too thick, so the second time I made this I added about 1/4 cup of white wine and a little half and half to the mix. For my second attempt, I also added a small can of mushrooms and the chive and onion cream cheese instead of the regular. I like to add everything in the beginning except for the cream cheese. I serve this over egg white noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is incredibly delicious. ...omg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a tasty and easy to prepare dinner. I found I only needed to cook the chicken for four hours in my slow cooker. I added some sauteed mushrooms to the mixture and served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great starter recipe with lots of room for alteration. Based on other reviewers' suggestions, I halved the the cream cheese and added about 1/4 cup of white wine. I also put the soup (98% fat free) in at the beginning of the cooking time, and only added the cream cheese at the very end. Lastly, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breast meat. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I used chicken tenderloins, fresh mushrooms, low fat cream cheese, omitted margarine, and I added the cream of chicken soup in the beginning. The cream cheese flavor was overwhelming to me. I also did not like the way the chicken shredded when I stirred in the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaniemg2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is delicious!! I made the recipe exactly how it says and it was so good! Next time I'm going to use low sodium soup and fat free cream cheese (just cuz it's a little fatty) and add veggies, but the way it is here it comes out very scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States