Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Tasty flavor! I followed the directions pretty closely except I added 1/2 can milk and a dollop of light sour cream + sauteed mushrooms and onions. The chicken ended up overcooked and dry -- 5 hours is too long. Next time I will try putting in everything at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and the taste was ok. It was like one of those quick instant pasta sauce kinda taste. Didn't taste like a regular or traditional stroganoff, perhaps, substituting cream cheese with sour cream could have made a bit more authentic taste. Meat was soft and easy to chew, but not sure a good chicken meat is a fit for this recipe, as I rather wanted to enjoy just a normally cooked meat than overly soft chicken meat (lost flavor). Overall, if you don't want to use a canned or instant sauce and still want a satisfaction of so-called "homemade" sauce, then, this menu could work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is not the fault of the recipe, our family realized that Stroganoff is not a flavor we like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was alright. I like the idea of the chicken cooking with just a little butter and the seasoning. The cream cheese combined with cream of chicken soup made it a little too heavy and rich for my taste. I served it over brown rice. I will probably make this again and serve over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was the first recipe I tried using my new slow cooker! Very delicious, but I did make a few changes as well. After reading the other reviews, I added the cream of chicken first. I also added 1/3 cup of wine. The sauce ended up being very thick (not a bad thing at all), but I am worried about reheating it. Next time I think I'll add a bit more wine and perhaps less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
yum! I added 1 chopped onion, and a chopped green bell pepper to the chicken. then opted for 1/2 the cream cheese, and 1/2 cup sour cream. really good, will be making it again! perhaps with beef. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
yummy! Might cut out a bit of the cream cheese next time - a bit too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
No changes, just doubled the recipe. My husband said its one of the 10 best things I've ever made. My mother-in-law complemented the flavor several times during the meal. Both kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Complete success!!!! I made a few changes. I seasoned the diced chicken with the italian dressing mix powder, but then i added 1/3 cup of marsala cooking wine, 1 can of fat free cream of chicken, 1 can of fate free mushroom. Mixed it all together and let it cook on a high for 2.5 hrs. Once the chicken is no longer pink and the soup is mixed/heated well I diced up a black of low fat cream cheese and added it to the chicken mixture in the pot. Mixed it really well when the chunks of cheese melted easily. Let is cook on low for 30 more mins and it was done. A huge hit my 5 yr old son, his babysitter and her friend. Hubby liked it too. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I think this is one of those times when the whole is not greater than the sum of the parts. Even after following some of the suggestions I found in the comments, this still pretty much tastes exactly like cream of chicken soup with cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States