Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Oh my!!!!! This was a hit!! I modified it slightly.....added fresh sliced portabello mushrooms, half a bag of frozen broccoli, a half bag of baby carrots (sliced into about 4 or 5 pieces), one sweet potato (bite-sized pieces), added 2 extra apples, 3 extra garlic cloves, and used yukon gold potatoes (bite-sized pieces). I par-boiled the yukon gold potaoes with the sweet potatoes for about 15 minutes before adding them to the slow cooker. I also added about one cup of water and stirred it occasionally for the first few hours. We cooked it for about 10 hours. I was looking for something to make for my 82 year old Dad who's wife has been in the hospital for the past month. He's not used to cooking on his own.....or doing anything on his own, for that matter!! I put this stew in little microwave-safe containers and put it in his freezer for him to take out the night before and put in his fridge to thaw to eat the next day. Well.....he said it's the best stew that he's ever had in his whole entire life....and even though he has other food to eat, he's been taking a bowl of this stew out of his freezer every night after supper for supper the next night.... for the past week!! I asked him if he was getting tired of it yet....and reminded him that he has other food to heat up.....but he said that he looks forward to supper every night since he's had the chicken stew in his freezer. I have to admit...it's the best that I've ever had too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Lovely recipe, simple and no hassle. My bf and I are big mushroom fans so I substituted cream of mushroom soup and also added sliced mushrooms. With crusty French bread made a wonderful meal for a cold evening and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very tasty. I doubled the recipe, added carrots (great addition for both color and flavor) and served to 8 happy people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This recipe would be much faster if the potatoes were partially pre-cooked, but we (my boyfriend and I) left it all day, so it didn't matter much. Our substitutions and additons were pretty standard: 2 chicken breasts, 3 chopped celery sticks, 1/2 onion, chicken gravy, mushroom soup, 2 cloves garlic. Rather unusual and very interesting, what with all the different textures and flavors. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Absolutely wonderful after tweeking it a bit! I added carrots and celery and doubled the spices thanks to the reviews here. I sauteed the chicken with the garlic, onions, and celery and it added a wonderful flavor. My husband was disappointed that I didn't make more. I'll double it next time so he has some to take with him for lunch! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was delicious. I added 2 apples, carrots, celery and sweet potatoes. Be sure to cut them in fairly small pieces so they are fully cooked. The sauce was the perfect consistency. All 4 of my kids liked this - which is a rarity. Next time I will add more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I have the pickest husband ever so I changed the soup to cream of chicken. I also tried it with the country gravy instead of onion gravy. We really liked it. My potatoes were not done in time allowed. Next time i will put my crock pot on high. I also added peas and corn. Very good. We mixed in rice and my husband raved about it. needed extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was SOO tasty!! One of my new favorite dishes I've tried. We had company so I adjusted to serve 9, but put in 3 apples, a half bag of baby carrots and 2 stalks of celery. Everyone raved about it and there weren't any leftovers. Next time I have to get a bigger crock pot so I can make a larger serving size because it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This wasn't too bad. I made a few tweaks based on other reviews and past experiences. I definitely have more ideas for the next time. I used chicken breasts with the bone and skin, sauteed in a couple of Tbsp. olive oil and garlic with garlic salt and pepper, added 1/2 cubed sweet potato, celery, and baby carrots. I used Lipton golden onion soup mix, added another 1/2 c water (total 1c water) and a can of chicken broth. You have to make sure your meat is covered in sauce if you cook it for 12 hrs on low (I commute). I didn't have italian seasoning, so I used parsley and a dash of chili powder. The meat fell off the bone and was not too dry. I couldn't taste the apple, so next time I will use 2, and probably use granny smith instead of red. I couldn't even taste the cream of celery either so I might not use it next time. I found that it didn't have as much flavor as I usually expect from pot roast or stew. A little more salt helped, though. It was probably too diluted with the extra water. Next time, I will add more salt/seasoning, maybe even some chicken boullion. All in all, a good base recipe to build on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I tried this recipe last night and it was yummy - made the whole house smell good too. I did make some variations to the original recipe though; I added a jar of the premade chicken gravy as well as an envelope of dry onion dip mix because I couldn't find the onion gravy mix at my grocery store. I added carrots and celery to the crockpot, and then added a bag of mixed veggies about an hour before serving. Next time I will probably add another apple too. I didn't eat it with rice or noodles because I'm trying to keep my carbs down but it was a very good veggie filled stew. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States