Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Granted, I did make a few changes. Used cream of chicken soup, used half as much garlic (the fiance isn't so keen on it), only half an onion, turkey gravy, and two more potatoes. Next time I will definitely use more apple and serve with egg noodles. Mmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Delicious! I make this stew every Winter. Each time I forget that I need to cook the potatoes a little longer. I cut mine into chunks so that's probably why I need an extra 2 hours on low. This time I added an extra can of low fat chicken soup along with a drop of red wine I had left. It tasted pretty good! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Having made this twice now, I can say really like it...with a few adjustments. I tried the onion gravy mix in it, and didn't like it as much as when I just used a little chicken broth with the cream of celery. I also added carrots since my kids won't eat potatoes. I didn't bother browning the chicken first, just cut the breasts in half and put them on the bottom of the crock pot and layered the veggies over it, pouring the soup, etc. (plus a little cayenne) over all. A very nice chunky stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This recipe is a good base recipe but I made some changes for my version: I used boneless skinless thigh meat instead of breast meat and put salt and pepper directly on the meat, doubled the garlic, used dried rosemary, parsley, and a bay leaf, and instead of apple and red potatoes, I chose to use two ribs of celery chopped, carrots (as many others did) and turnips (diced). These gave it a really good flavor and upped the nutritional value as well. I also used onion-soup mix instead of the dry gravy mix and a reduced fat, reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup. I wanted a more broth-like consistency instead of creamy consistency, so I doubled the water and added two cubes of chicken bouillion. Served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made a few changes: used 4 skinless chicken breasts, used chicken broth instead of water, skipped the olive oil and used Pam cooking spray, used cream of mushroom instead of cream of celery soup, used yams instead of potatoes, skipped the dry onion gravy mix, and added fresh baby spinach, baby carrots, green beans and green peppers. It tasted great and the entire pot was less than 2400 calories. It made 4 servings of a very healthy dish that was about 550 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Good base for a slow cooker chicken stew, but it was far too oniony. It could be that I omited the apples. I have a very picky 5 year old at home. But the recipes have promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Thought the flavor was decent but was lacking something. I added 6 red potatoes, 3 didn't seem like much. I would try again and use several more apples. They cooked down to nothing and I am not getting much apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe was great but I did tweak it a bit. I added a bag of carrots, a can of cream of chicken soup, and instead of water I used chicken broth. With the changes it was to die for. As soon as it starts to get cool out my family starts begging for chicken stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissthechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was disappointing. I did add extra water because it wasn't enough. It just left something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was excellent. The only thing wrong is the water, what is listed isn't nearly enough. We used eight chicken thighs, two cups water and doubled the rest of the recipe (one can cream of celery, one can cream of chicken). The stew was served over rice with fresh rolls, and was delicious! Will be going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States