Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was sooooo good! I only used one pound of chicken and cut it into bite sized pieces. I also cut the potato into smaller bite sized chunks so they cooked faster. Instead of onion gravy mix I used lipton's onion soup mix because its all I had. I also used an additional cup of water and a second can of soup so the broth would be thicker. As written, the stew didn't have enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I make this one all the time, but i did a few additions, i added bay leaf, ommited out the apples, and added fresh mushrooms instead, due to the fact that my two sons dont care much for sweet flavored chicken stew I had to do some changes, I also added some celery seeds, oregano, garlic powder, some coarse pepper, a touch of Louisiana hot sauce, and a dash of white wine, Beautifully Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I made this dish 3 times within 2 weeks! Once for my sister's family, once for my mother and again for my sisters family's cookout! EVERYONE raved about it! EVERYONE!!! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I slow cooked this and added carrots. Turned out pretty well, though it may need to served over rice or noodles to get it as starchy as I like. I think I'll try it in a cast iron dutch oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I liked this a lot, but will not make it over rice again. We thought it tasted better as leftovers, over noodles! The flavors were great, and as long as you don't mind picking out the chicken bones, this was very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I didn't use the apple or the gravy mix, but it turned out well. I added another can of condensed soup to make up for the lack of gravy mix, and cabbage instead of an apple. Very filling, very easy, easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made some revisions to the recipe and I was very happy. I used 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of water, used a jar of chicken gravy, added celery, carrots, doubled the garlic, sauted the garlic and onion with the chicken, and added 1/2 tsp rosemary, parsely, and oregano, plus I put Mrs. Dash on the chicken/onion/garlic mixture during the sauteing. I also cut the apples into very large pieces so they wouldn't get too mushy. I left out the onion soup mix. Turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We had this tonight and were very pleased. My man thought the world of it. It is delicious rib-sticking comfort food. Perfect on a cold, chilly night. It does take some prep work and time in the morning (or night before) but it's worth it. After a long day at work you just walk in the door, do up some noodles or rice, ladle the stew over and dinner's on. Like others have said it's an excellent base recipe. I think in the future I would add more apples. I'd probably also add carrots and celery. Instead of water I would use apple cider or a pale, sweet beer, perhaps. It's a delightful autumn or winter meal. Thanks so much for posting it and making us so happy at dinnertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
added carrots, celery, an extra apple, a little more dry onion mix, a little extra water and some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
pretty good. Added some veggies as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States