Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good - my husband really liked this. I followed some other suggestions and cut the potatoes smaller as well as the onions. I also added carrots and only one apple as that is all I had. I used cream of chicken soup but I'm sure just about any cream soup would work well. I'll keep this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Tasty! I add a cup and a bit of cubed butternut squash and did NOT saute the chicken ahead of time. Just mixed it in with all of the spices and the gravy mix and let it cook on low for 8 hours. Worked out well and the kids and husband and extended family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Really yummy!! I used cream of chicken soup and chicken broth instead of water. Also added some carrots and celery seed. Very hearty and certainly filling! Will definitely make again on one of those cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We loved this but I did make some changes. I added 1 cup water and more potato. It was a little salty and I couldn't find onion gravy mix so I used chicken gravy mix. It was very thick and tasty. Next time I may cut the salt and Italian seasoning a little. I also had more chicken in it as I didn't want to waste a breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe! I served it over rice and my little boy ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
It was totally flavorless. I didn't understand why y'all used the buillion cubes and everybody said it was too salty, so I just used chicken stock. The whole thing was blah. I gave two stars because serving it over biscuits made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gheartoms1206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I did this recipe but couldn't find the onion gravy mix at my grocery store. So instead I used one packet McCormick chicken gravy mix and one packet Lipton onion mix. I also threw away 2/8 of the onion. IMO - it just seemed way too much. ALSO ... I added added simple dough dumplings. I simmered those in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilMamaAndWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
SOLID 4 stars. Good as is, I reccomend you customize it to make it amazing given your personal tastes. I like using 3 apples, 1c chicken broth, sub rosemary & oregano for italian seasoning, and being generous with garlic. Make sure you cut the potatoes small enough to cook; I was cutting mine into as many as 20 pieces (halve, quarter, chop chop chop chop...that's all it takes to make it bite size). I also chopped up the onion a bit more for more bite-size texture. Bottom line, this was satisfying, tastey, easy to make, and inexpensive. I loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Cooked only 3.5 hours and still came out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a great receipe. My family loved it. It was wonderful coming home and having dinner ready. It's definately a keeper. Next time I'll add another apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States