Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Just made it for the first time and loved it !! I put whole chicken breast in and the shredded the chicken when it was done . I would agree with others and use less bullion . And I didn't use celery salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I'm giving 4 stars because I did use the reviews to change this recipe. I used minced garlic and some powder instead of garlic salt and used a pinch of celery seed instead of the celery salt. I shook in pepper to taste- nowhere near 1 tablespoon and I only used 1 big bouillon cube. I added some chopped onion that I had frozen. I used regular potatoes because I didn't have the red. Since I used a lot of fresh carrots I only added frozen corn and peas a couple hours before it was done. It was delicious! I honestly did add some salt at the end when I tasted it, but I'd rather have to add salt than be stuck with something too salty. I know what I did is not this recipe, but that's why I love reviews! My way was really good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was great for everyone. My husband usually doesn't like stews or soups but he loved this. I did add just a bit more pepper and I added some milk (just a 1/2 cup or so) to make it a bit less thick. I cooked on low for 8 hours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Another easy meal for those crazy nights with activities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
We made this more like a real pot pie by putting it in the oven for the last 12 minutes with Pillbury Cresent Roll laid over top. (transferred part of it to a large pie plate, added the unrolled Cresent Roll on top) The cresent roll made a flakey crust on top. We cut back on the bullion cubes, using just 4 and will cut back more next time we make this. It was a winner and will be repeated in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The flavors in this stew were nice, but it was SO ridiculously salty it was difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Pinto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just love getting home and dinners ready! Make some biscuits and your ready to eat. I use 1/2 chicken breasts and 1/2 chicken thighs, I think it keeps it from drying out as much. This makes so much that we can freeze 1/2 for another day. I also like to cook this and then place in a pie shell for a "pot pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Lisa MacKay
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I prepared this recipe over the weekend and we had it for dinner tonight. The preparation was simple and flexible. You can make several modifications to suit your palate and it will surely still turn out well. I agree with others regarding the bullion cubes. Wish I had noticed the other comments prior to making this dish. While our stew is not too salty, the cubes are totally unwarranted. Seasoning such as organic no-salt seasoning, sweet ginger garlic seasoning, and oregano - or others - will do. I actually used these with the cubes, thus saving us from mouthfuls of salt. The seasoning tempered the salt, but the sodium is nonetheless present. I will eliminate the cubes when preparing it next time. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this exactly as written...all we taste is an overpowering flavor of pepper. Next time, I will add the pepper after preparing. Also, I won't use the bouillon and change the garlic salt to garlic powder. This recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I thought the potatoes and carrots weren't necessary ...and really, I wasn't a big fan of the celery either. If you're going to serve the dish over biscuits (which was delicious), the traditional "mixed vegetables" that come from a frozen bag work nicely all on their own. From a nutritional perspective, potatoes are a great carbohydrate on their own. Putting them together with the biscuit, I felt, was too much. I would choose one carbohydrate source or the other. Otherwise, it's a great dish and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States