Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Why add chicken breasts which are more expensive and taste bland instead of a whole chicken cut in portions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Had a 10 lb. chicken and a large breast all with skin and bones so I simmered all in water with some Mural of Flavor a herb and spice mix, no salt, from Penzy spices. Cooked for 2 hours removed and let cool. Separated meat from skin and bones tore into pieces. Mixed 2 large cans of Cream of Chicken soup with roughly one can of the liquid I simmered the chicken in. Added celery, small container of fresh mushrooms sliced, garlic powder, a little celery salt, pepper,cooked chicken,. combined well cooked on high 3 hours in Crock Pot. Added a package of frozen carrots and peas and cooked on high for another hour and half. Served over some fresh baked buttermilk biscuits. Very good tasted like a pot pie from a five star bakery/deli. I froze a portion to see how it would be. Just as good. Next time I thought I would line some ramekins with some prepared pie crust, ladle in some finished product, put a top on it and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this today and we had a great dinner! I did alter it to reduce the amount of salt; used celery salt but garlic powder and 1tablespoon of low-sodium chicken Better Than Bouillon. I also made my own cream-of-chicken soup and it came out just fine. Served with baking powder biscuits and it was a terrific, comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made this yesterday for my family. I omitted the potatoes as I was serving it over buttermilk biscuits. I also omitted the bouillon and used healthy request soup instead because of all the sodium. I will make this again, but I will significantly reduce the amount of black pepper used. It was way too peppery for all of us. This would be wonderful on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe has lots of potential but if you follow it exactly as listed you may find it too salty to eat! With a little tweaking and less salt I think it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I think this is a good idea for a slow cooker meal. It's easily modified to your liking. The cream of chicken adds a lot of salt, so I reduce the number of bouillon cubes to two. Changes I make: garlic powder (not salt); 1 cup diced onion; 1 teaspoon thyme; add only frozen peas, right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
It was good, but will cut back on the pepper. Too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is so delicious. However I substituted low sodium chicken soup and used garlic powder and celery seeds instead of the salt mixes. I also substitutes low salt bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
My kids loved this! I didn't add the celery salt or the garlic salt because I don't like either. The soup and the boulion cube are more than enough. We used a low sodium cream of chicken soup and that was just enough seasoning for us. I also found that it was watery, so I added some cornstarch to thicken it up an make it closer to the consistency of chicken pot pie. I also added ALOT of veggies. The kids really, really liked it. It tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Woods Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I cooked this on low instead of high for 5 hours, and still found that it stuck to the sides and needed a little more moisture. I also cut down on the cubes, using 2 instead of 6. Also used minced garlic instead of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn McGuinness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States