Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I found both things to like and things that could be improved with this recipe. On the plus side, the chicken came out wonderfully and very moist, and the potatoes were also delicious and made the stew very filling. The preparation was also extremely simple; the most time-consuming part was cubing the chicken. That said, even having left out the celery salt (which I didn't have), I found this stew much too salty. This coming from a guy who considers salt to be its own food group; I put it on virtually everything. In retrospect, I think that the only problem was that 6 bouillon cubes is far too much. I ended up adding two cups of whole milk to try and mellow it out without hurting the creaminess, which did help somewhat. But the bouillon just ended up giving the whole thing that salty, artificial chicken flavor, like eating a packet of ramen flavoring. If I were to make this again I'd use maybe 1 or 2 cubes of the bouillon, if any at all. The condensed soup and the chicken breasts are probably enough chicken flavor by themselves, especially if you leave a little bit of the chicken fat on the breasts. Then just salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
HELPFUL HINTS TO MAKE THIS 5 STARS: This is a recipe that can be changed 100 different ways and still turn out good. Important thing to note is you absolutely positively do not need to add the bouillon cubes. Well, let me rephrase... 1 chicken bc does taste fine w/o being salty when you add the potatoes. If I use grand biscuits which I recommend to serve with this, I do not add potatoes. Kinda overdone on the carbs. If I do add potatoes, DEFINITELY add 1 can of chicken broth and this is the only time I would consider adding a tsp of garlic salt to flavor the potatoes a bit. I added lots of fresh garlic. You also can omit the celery and baby carrots if you don't have them. My bag of mixed veggies always have carrots in them. The black pepper should really be reduced to 1/2t unless you like tasting black pepper in every bite. I also recommend adding 2-3t of mrs. dash or equivalent or it will be very bland as the chicken has no flavor. If you use frozen chicken breasts, just add 1 more hour to the cooking time. This tastes wonderful. Can also be served over noodles. :) Oh, and I always cook this in the crockpot on low not high. My thawed chicken is always done in 4-5 hours on low, and I found the frozen veggies needed 1.5 to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
930 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Just by reading this recipe I knew I was not going to add any salt to it. Ended up putting in garlic, pepper, and fresh basil. Also, instead of any buillon I added a can of chicken broth. I know the potatoes would have been good, but I put in wheat egg noodles. Also added onions and mushrooms. I will try the potatoes next time. Very easy, creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The was really excellent, with a few small changes. As others suggested, I omitted the bouillon and used 1 can of low-sodium chicken broth. I also combine about 1/4 cup flour with some water and added to the dish during the last 15 minutes of cooking. Turned out nice and thick to spoon over our biscuits! I will definitely be keeping this recipe for the next time we want chicken and biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My family loved this I did put only 1 tsp pepper not the 1 TBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Great flavor but WAY too salty! I would suggest using garlic powder instead of garlic salt and use low sodium bouillon. Other than that - great recipe! Served over home made biscuits - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really yummy!! I have blood pressure problems so I skipped out on the celery and garlic salt, and boulion cubes - and used plain garlic, a big family sized can of cream of chicken soup, and one small can of cream of celery soup! I also just added the potatoes, a chopped onion, bag of frozen veggies, ground pepper and herbs!! Very good! Very easy!! Will for sure make many times over!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I changed it up a bit...I only added 2 bouillion cubes, added 1 can cream of celery, 1 can cream of mush, 2 cans cr of chicken, then added green beans instead of the mixed veggies. I served it over biscuits... very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made a half recipe omitting the salt. Half just about filled up my whole crock pot! I wouldn't cut your chicken pieces too small as mine fell apart when stirring. Enjoyed it served over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garfodie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 out of 5 even though I changed it according to a lot of the reviews. I did not add the potatoes as my family ate it over biscuits. I also omitted the salts and bouillon cubes per the advice of many reviewers. I did add onion and one can of chicken broth. This recipe was AMAZING!!!! I have two very picky kids and they both ate this with no complaint. It really does taste like the filling of chicken pot pie. If you have not tried this recipe you need to run out and get the ingredients to make it for dinner tonight!! Thank you so much for sharing this!!! Also, I had plenty of leftovers to enjoy later and enough to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States