Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My family loved this I did put only 1 tsp pepper not the 1 TBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I found both things to like and things that could be improved with this recipe. On the plus side, the chicken came out wonderfully and very moist, and the potatoes were also delicious and made the stew very filling. The preparation was also extremely simple; the most time-consuming part was cubing the chicken. That said, even having left out the celery salt (which I didn't have), I found this stew much too salty. This coming from a guy who considers salt to be its own food group; I put it on virtually everything. In retrospect, I think that the only problem was that 6 bouillon cubes is far too much. I ended up adding two cups of whole milk to try and mellow it out without hurting the creaminess, which did help somewhat. But the bouillon just ended up giving the whole thing that salty, artificial chicken flavor, like eating a packet of ramen flavoring. If I were to make this again I'd use maybe 1 or 2 cubes of the bouillon, if any at all. The condensed soup and the chicken breasts are probably enough chicken flavor by themselves, especially if you leave a little bit of the chicken fat on the breasts. Then just salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Just by reading this recipe I knew I was not going to add any salt to it. Ended up putting in garlic, pepper, and fresh basil. Also, instead of any buillon I added a can of chicken broth. I know the potatoes would have been good, but I put in wheat egg noodles. Also added onions and mushrooms. I will try the potatoes next time. Very easy, creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Delicious just as it is! Veggies were perfect and chicken was moist and tender. We'll definitely make this dish again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I changed it up a bit...I only added 2 bouillion cubes, added 1 can cream of celery, 1 can cream of mush, 2 cans cr of chicken, then added green beans instead of the mixed veggies. I served it over biscuits... very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Great flavor but WAY too salty! I would suggest using garlic powder instead of garlic salt and use low sodium bouillon. Other than that - great recipe! Served over home made biscuits - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was great. I served it over "Baking Powder Drop Biscuits". I followed the recipe exactly but added a can of corn and a can of green beans instead of the frozen veggies. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
this was outstanding! The only issue was I think I put in too much pepper...but next time less pepper and it will be even better! I loved it, a great "lower" fat version of chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfraggle37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really yummy!! I have blood pressure problems so I skipped out on the celery and garlic salt, and boulion cubes - and used plain garlic, a big family sized can of cream of chicken soup, and one small can of cream of celery soup! I also just added the potatoes, a chopped onion, bag of frozen veggies, ground pepper and herbs!! Very good! Very easy!! Will for sure make many times over!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The was really excellent, with a few small changes. As others suggested, I omitted the bouillon and used 1 can of low-sodium chicken broth. I also combine about 1/4 cup flour with some water and added to the dish during the last 15 minutes of cooking. Turned out nice and thick to spoon over our biscuits! I will definitely be keeping this recipe for the next time we want chicken and biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States