Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So far, all I can really say is I made this recipe totally backwards. My chicken was still thawing, but I know how my slow cooker is so I started it heating to temp. In doing so, being my first time making this, I threw in my fresh veggies since I wrote down add all but frozen veggies. Lol. So, I thought 5 hrs on high with fresh veggies would all turn to mush, so I partially cooked my 3 medium red potatoes into bite sized pieces and boiled in salted water (abt 6 mins), cooled then coated with mrs. Dash original, pepper and a little salt. I also cubed the chicken and put it in the oven for 10 mins, with salt/pepper sprinkled over it, which is fine by me to get those juices out first. Otherwise I always think blood seeping out into the stew. I didn't have any chicken broth on hand, but the condensed did look pretty thick, so I drained the broth from a can of chicken noodle soup. I used real garlic and cut up an onion in large chunks. I used fresh baby carrots, minced garlic and chopped celery. No bullion cubes. I didn't go wild with the recipe, just made a few changes based on reviews and made more work for myself by making things out of order. Lol. I now have it on low for the next 2 - 3 hours to finish the potatoes, carrots and chicken. It already looks and smells delicious though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So easy excellent meal I made it with biscuits and stuffing We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
It was WAY too salty. I would use garlic powder instead and use fewer bouillon. I think with those changes it would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Way way too much salt and pepper. I added onions and used three cans of cream of chicken and one can of cream of celery. I will try again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Had a 10 lb. chicken and a large breast all with skin and bones so I simmered all in water with some Mural of Flavor a herb and spice mix, no salt, from Penzy spices. Cooked for 2 hours removed and let cool. Separated meat from skin and bones tore into pieces. Mixed 2 large cans of Cream of Chicken soup with roughly one can of the liquid I simmered the chicken in. Added celery, small container of fresh mushrooms sliced, garlic powder, a little celery salt, pepper,cooked chicken,. combined well cooked on high 3 hours in Crock Pot. Added a package of frozen carrots and peas and cooked on high for another hour and half. Served over some fresh baked buttermilk biscuits. Very good tasted like a pot pie from a five star bakery/deli. I froze a portion to see how it would be. Just as good. Next time I thought I would line some ramekins with some prepared pie crust, ladle in some finished product, put a top on it and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this today and we had a great dinner! I did alter it to reduce the amount of salt; used celery salt but garlic powder and 1tablespoon of low-sodium chicken Better Than Bouillon. I also made my own cream-of-chicken soup and it came out just fine. Served with baking powder biscuits and it was a terrific, comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made this yesterday for my family. I omitted the potatoes as I was serving it over buttermilk biscuits. I also omitted the bouillon and used healthy request soup instead because of all the sodium. I will make this again, but I will significantly reduce the amount of black pepper used. It was way too peppery for all of us. This would be wonderful on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe has lots of potential but if you follow it exactly as listed you may find it too salty to eat! With a little tweaking and less salt I think it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I think this is a good idea for a slow cooker meal. It's easily modified to your liking. The cream of chicken adds a lot of salt, so I reduce the number of bouillon cubes to two. Changes I make: garlic powder (not salt); 1 cup diced onion; 1 teaspoon thyme; add only frozen peas, right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
It was good, but will cut back on the pepper. Too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States