Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I used this recipe as a base since we're really sensitive to salt and garlic, and it is a great starting point for your family's likes. Basically what you like in a chicken pot pie, use for vegetables in this recipe, which is what I did. I used 4 10.75 oz cans of Healthy Choice Cream of chicken soup (do they even make 26 oz cans any more?), about 1 tablespoon of no salt seasoning blend mix from Trader Joe's (like Mrs Dash's general blend), 2 teaspoons of poultry seasoning, half a soup can of water and several grinds of fresh black pepper. I used about 1/2 lb sliced baby carrots, two huge celery sticks diced, half of a huge onion, about a cup of fresh sliced green beans and cooked on high for 4.5 hrs, stirring half way through. Then a half hour before it finished cooking, I fished out the chicken pieces and cut much smaller, then added a healthy cup of frozen peas. I can't say enough about this base recipe - it is a perfect starting point and a great way to keep your kitchen cool on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
My family and I enjoyed this for dinner last night! I will make it again, and when I do, I will cut back on the pepper and salt. You can always salt & pepper stuff at the table, right? I also added three diced pieces of spring onions. Made some cheddar/cheese biscuits, too. This is really an awesome dish and smelled wonderful while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Even without a slow cooker, this recipe was a hit. To cut back on salt I used celery seed and powdered garlic. Also I added about a cup of chicken stock and 1 less bouillon cube. It was a big success and made enough to last a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I cut the servings to 8 and still had left overs. I didn't use the bullion but did use some low sodium chicken broth. I added some flour to thicken up the broth. It was a huge hit. Fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very good. This is something I'd have to get used to eating just because I grew up eating all of those ingredients in one convenient little bowl, but very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
The food was overall good but there was way to many potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made vegetarian by putting in cubed tofu instead of chicken and cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and veggie broth -it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is really good, but, like others, I tweaked it. I didn't use canned soup, but used my homemade chicken broth and then added about 1/2 cup cream. Also, didn't use bouillon, but had to add salt. I used garlic powder and fresh celery leaves, then added some chives and chopped onions. I also used white sweet potatoes which gave it a touch of sweetness, but really not noticable. It turned out really well. We ate it on top of rice noodles. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe was way way way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So easy to make. I put everything together the night before and turned the crockpot on in the morning. A perfect easy and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Roush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States