Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
We made this more like a real pot pie by putting it in the oven for the last 12 minutes with Pillbury Cresent Roll laid over top. (transferred part of it to a large pie plate, added the unrolled Cresent Roll on top) The cresent roll made a flakey crust on top. We cut back on the bullion cubes, using just 4 and will cut back more next time we make this. It was a winner and will be repeated in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The flavors in this stew were nice, but it was SO ridiculously salty it was difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Pinto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just love getting home and dinners ready! Make some biscuits and your ready to eat. I use 1/2 chicken breasts and 1/2 chicken thighs, I think it keeps it from drying out as much. This makes so much that we can freeze 1/2 for another day. I also like to cook this and then place in a pie shell for a "pot pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Lisa MacKay
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I prepared this recipe over the weekend and we had it for dinner tonight. The preparation was simple and flexible. You can make several modifications to suit your palate and it will surely still turn out well. I agree with others regarding the bullion cubes. Wish I had noticed the other comments prior to making this dish. While our stew is not too salty, the cubes are totally unwarranted. Seasoning such as organic no-salt seasoning, sweet ginger garlic seasoning, and oregano - or others - will do. I actually used these with the cubes, thus saving us from mouthfuls of salt. The seasoning tempered the salt, but the sodium is nonetheless present. I will eliminate the cubes when preparing it next time. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this exactly as written...all we taste is an overpowering flavor of pepper. Next time, I will add the pepper after preparing. Also, I won't use the bouillon and change the garlic salt to garlic powder. This recipe has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I thought the potatoes and carrots weren't necessary ...and really, I wasn't a big fan of the celery either. If you're going to serve the dish over biscuits (which was delicious), the traditional "mixed vegetables" that come from a frozen bag work nicely all on their own. From a nutritional perspective, potatoes are a great carbohydrate on their own. Putting them together with the biscuit, I felt, was too much. I would choose one carbohydrate source or the other. Otherwise, it's a great dish and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So far, all I can really say is I made this recipe totally backwards. My chicken was still thawing, but I know how my slow cooker is so I started it heating to temp. In doing so, being my first time making this, I threw in my fresh veggies since I wrote down add all but frozen veggies. Lol. So, I thought 5 hrs on high with fresh veggies would all turn to mush, so I partially cooked my 3 medium red potatoes into bite sized pieces and boiled in salted water (abt 6 mins), cooled then coated with mrs. Dash original, pepper and a little salt. I also cubed the chicken and put it in the oven for 10 mins, with salt/pepper sprinkled over it, which is fine by me to get those juices out first. Otherwise I always think blood seeping out into the stew. I didn't have any chicken broth on hand, but the condensed did look pretty thick, so I drained the broth from a can of chicken noodle soup. I used real garlic and cut up an onion in large chunks. I used fresh baby carrots, minced garlic and chopped celery. No bullion cubes. I didn't go wild with the recipe, just made a few changes based on reviews and made more work for myself by making things out of order. Lol. I now have it on low for the next 2 - 3 hours to finish the potatoes, carrots and chicken. It already looks and smells delicious though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So easy excellent meal I made it with biscuits and stuffing We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
It was WAY too salty. I would use garlic powder instead and use fewer bouillon. I think with those changes it would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Way way too much salt and pepper. I added onions and used three cans of cream of chicken and one can of cream of celery. I will try again with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States