Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I did modify just a bit with no sodium bouillon and lower sodium cream of chicken soup. It was a bit bland but you can salt to taste when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I didn't grab two cream of chicken at the store. I did 1 cream of chicken and one cream of mushroom.. I did 1 bouillon... ok don't judge me.. I was super afraid it would be sooo salty.. I did add one can of broth as others suggested.. my husband said not to next time. He said it would be nice thicker. I liked it with broth.. So that's not a deal breaker if you do or don't. We had this for Thanksgiving dinner. Since I am gluten free and not a turkey fan, this was a great alternative. Its simple and inexpensive. Its rich and creamy and the celery salt adds so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Red potatoes is a nice touch to this recipe. However, it was far too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We followed it all the way but instead of 6 chicken bullion cubes we used 2 and a can of low sodium chicken broth. I cooked it on low for 6 hours and added the veggies the last hour. Delicious we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was wonderful. Didnt put in potatoes, added a quarter of an onion, only had 2 boullion cubes so I used 3/4 tablespoon of soup base. One can cream of chicken. Served with homemade rolls, delicious. If I wasnt so full right now Id go back for more! Perfect for busy days when I have no time to cook since the veggies were still bright in color my son had no problem wolfing this down (hes not a fan of canned, dull, not so fresh veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeghanJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Would have been a lot better with the black pepper cut at least in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Mama Shaw made this stew. I intuitively cut down on the sodium. Luckily I had celery seed without salt and garlic powder without the salt. I only put a tiny bit of bullion. I wish I had only added a tsp. of pepper. 1 tablespoon is too much. I only had chicken quarters with the bone on them and would never put any bones in this stew again. The chicken was so tender and it fell off the bones which made more work for me to have to find all the bones before serving. I also didn't have enough condensed chicken soup so I substituted some for some cream of mushroom. My husband gave it 10 stars and my daughter gave it four. I give it 4.5. Mama Shaw will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Way too much salt and pepper in this recipe! However, with some tweaks, this becomes a great 5 star recipe. Forget the bouillon cubes. I don't use garlic salt in anything, I prefer real minced garlic, but if you do use the ground up version, try garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Much better flavor and of course, less sodium. I did not add additional carrots as called for, I simply used a large bag of mixed veggies which had lots of carrots in it already. I cook this on low for about 5 hours. I usually use cream of mushroom soup, but that is personal preference. I have also made this with cream of celery soup and it was great! Lots of ways to tweak this and make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is really delicious on a cold day or a day when you are feeling a little sick, but it does have a little too much salt. I might recommend using less bouillon or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Really liked the taste, but i ended up with slimy clumps in my stew which didn't look that good. Can anyone tell me what may have caused this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States