Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Don't throw the baby out with the bath water OR in this case the Pot Pie Out w/ the SALT Water. Good news Bad News. Bad News: More salt than is tolerable. Good news: So darn easy to fix. Use only one bouillon cube (OR better yet, 1 t. of "BETTER Than Bouillon" (saves 110 mg sodium PER CUBE & tastes better) For the remaining 5 cubes use Herbox Chicken Bouillon powder. It comes in a jar OR envelopes. You still get good chicken flavor BUT NO SODIUM.(Find them w /the canned soups, top shelf) That way you can adjust the salty taste( and sodium Level) but leave the chicken flavor in tact. Also switch the Garlic salt to Garlic POWDER. you may need to use LESS...about 1/2 For the celery salt,switch to GROUND celery seeds. Again more celery flavor ( using 1/2 amt listed)and much less sodium. The cream of chicken soup has more than 800 mg of sodium, (per serving) so if you love a salty taste, there is plenty of salt in that. Keep in mind also that even "no salt added " broths have over 100 mg sodium PER SERVING and "low sodium broths/ stocks have FAR more sodium than that. As for the rest of the recipe, I add 1 to 2 t. of FRESH thyme leaves (Or 1/4t to 1/2 t. dried thyme....but fresh is far better) I also add in 1/4 to 1/2t. poultry seasoning. Both the FRESH thyme and poultry seasoning add a much more home made taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Yum!!! I made some modifications based on other reviews, didn't add celery salt, only added 2 cb cubes, and I added 8 oz of chicken broth. I also added 4 tlbs minced garlic and increased the pepper to 3 1/2 tlbs. I used rotisserie chicken from Costco cause I didn't have frozen. I drizzled chicken stock on the chicken and let it sit while the other ingredients cooked and added it when there was 1 hour left. I cooked on low for 4 hours. Oh and I didn't add frozen veggies cause I didn't have them. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good with a few changes. Don't use all those bouillon cubes. I use 2 spoonfulls of the powder chicken base. Not so much pepper either. I also use 3 cans of cream of chicken instead of two. Makes it much thicker if you are going for that pot pie feel. For sure over biscuits is how we do it and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wurnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salter Path, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
It's great i change it alittle by putting it in a pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
to much pepper takes away flavor. it was alright. Want to try again and add my own spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Too much pepper! I would change it to 1 tsp. - max
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used only one chicken bouillon cube and added a can of low sodium chicken broth and thickened with corn starch near the end. Would definitely make again! Nice comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow..this recipe was delicious after a few trials and modifications! I made this dish three times and the third time was the charm. The last batch was made for the holidays and it was big hit- with the grown ups and the kids. I took out the baby carrots (it didn't wow me the first time I made it) and put in another small bag of frozen veggies, plus two more small potatoes. I only used two boullion cubes and omitted both the celery and garlic salts all together (as others mentioned, the original recipe is too salty). Overall, it was easy to make and fuss-free. Serve it on top of biscuits or white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
quick and easy to make. tasted just like a chicken pot pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A little one-note, but pretty good. Cut the potatoes up really small! And I only used one bouillon cube; otherwise, it would have been incredibly salty. To make it a proper stew: take out some of the cooked potatoes and puree them, then mix them back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States