Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
1 TBSP of ground black pepper has to be a mistake - it must have been only 1 TSP and I should have listened to my instincts and gone with that. This dish was so bad, nobody in my family could eat it and the entire thing had to be dumped. I used small red potatoes quartered and they were barely cooked enough. It was just bad. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I made this in the summer & still had that warm comfy home feel when I ate it. This was absolutely delicious. NOTE: However did need more chicken stock as the stew absorbed it. Also, I added rosemary, because I love it in pot pies & it was just the right touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I see a lot of reviews saying this recipe call for too much salt...but what about the pepper??? That's a ridiculous amount of pepper and because my husband helped me throw this together, he used what the recipe said. We both found it completely inedible! I would make this again but with both salt and pepper reductions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Hello people, The Netherlands speaking, I just got a cast iron slow cooker. Me happy! And decided to try this recipe. I have to guess how much ounces are, but I think I got it figured. (still guessing ;-))Some ingrediënts i'll have to improvice on, but it smells delicious. I am gonna cheat on the buttermilk biscuits. Am using off the shelf puff pastrie things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martine Kok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I used this recipe as a base since we're really sensitive to salt and garlic, and it is a great starting point for your family's likes. Basically what you like in a chicken pot pie, use for vegetables in this recipe, which is what I did. I used 4 10.75 oz cans of Healthy Choice Cream of chicken soup (do they even make 26 oz cans any more?), about 1 tablespoon of no salt seasoning blend mix from Trader Joe's (like Mrs Dash's general blend), 2 teaspoons of poultry seasoning, half a soup can of water and several grinds of fresh black pepper. I used about 1/2 lb sliced baby carrots, two huge celery sticks diced, half of a huge onion, about a cup of fresh sliced green beans and cooked on high for 4.5 hrs, stirring half way through. Then a half hour before it finished cooking, I fished out the chicken pieces and cut much smaller, then added a healthy cup of frozen peas. I can't say enough about this base recipe - it is a perfect starting point and a great way to keep your kitchen cool on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
My family and I enjoyed this for dinner last night! I will make it again, and when I do, I will cut back on the pepper and salt. You can always salt & pepper stuff at the table, right? I also added three diced pieces of spring onions. Made some cheddar/cheese biscuits, too. This is really an awesome dish and smelled wonderful while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Even without a slow cooker, this recipe was a hit. To cut back on salt I used celery seed and powdered garlic. Also I added about a cup of chicken stock and 1 less bouillon cube. It was a big success and made enough to last a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I cut the servings to 8 and still had left overs. I didn't use the bullion but did use some low sodium chicken broth. I added some flour to thicken up the broth. It was a huge hit. Fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very good. This is something I'd have to get used to eating just because I grew up eating all of those ingredients in one convenient little bowl, but very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
The food was overall good but there was way to many potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States