Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This reminded me of a recipe I sometimes prepare on special occasions. I added garlic, 1/4 cup minced onion, 1/4 grated parmesan cheese, some crushed rosemary and doubled the mushrooms. One hour before serving I also added a 14oz can of quarted artichoke hearts. Served over rice, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Pretty good! I took note that other reviewers complained of it having too strong a wine flavor, or being too tangy, and with that in mind, I took the lid off the crockpot for the last half hour and turned it on high. I think this allowed more of the alcohol to evaporate, and the resulting dish was milder than previous tastings during cooking. (It also thickened the sauce nicely.) The chicken was very tender, perfect! I'd add more mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
WOW! This turned out fantastic! My husband is not a huge chicken fan, but all I heard during dinner was Mmmmmmm, this is great! I used frozen chicken breasts, substituted whole fresh mushrooms for the canned, and used white zinfandel wine (all we had in the house). Definitely season the chicken with salt, pepper and paprika, still needed a little salt, but then we like things very well seasoned. I served it over angel hair pasta, with garlic green beans. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Don't usually like canned soup based recipes, but this was quite good. I did brown the chicken and fresh mushrooms first, then deglazed the pan with the wine/chicken broth (I used broth). Added some onion salt, and season salt & pepper. Used the paprika on top at serving to add color. Also used the mushroom soup w/ roasted garlic. Served with rice & glazed carrots. Whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Thank you Judith for this wonderful, simple, easy and oh so tasty recipe. My hubby just loved it and my picky eaters loved it as well. We served it over buttered/parsley noodles and it was a winner! The only thing I did different was my chicken breasts were frozen(I forgot to take them out and thaw them) I placed them in the crock frozen and they cooked up just wonderful with no extra time needed to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My family raved about this chicken! I substituted chicken broth for the wine, as we do not drink. I served it over egg noodles. The chicken was tender enough to cut with a fork. My kids had seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I made this for dinner one night when my two in-laws were visiting. We all absolutely loved it. I did a few things differently, such as, I used Campbells Cream of Mushroom With Roasted Garlic soup; added one cup of chicken broth to crock pot; I used 7 chicken thighs (skin removed) and browned them in some olive oil and garlic before placing them in the crock pot, and when I placed the chicken in the crock pot, I put thin slices of onion atop each of them. I also added about 1/4 cup of cooking sherry. I cooked it on "low" for 7 hours, but for the last half hour or so, I removed the cover and turned setting to "high". I served the chicken and gravy over noodles. The chicken was falling off the bone! A truly excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Absolutely delicious with a few additions. I put sliced onions on top of the chicken and a clove of minced garlic in the sauce. An hour before serving add a cup of frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
To make this an all in one dinner, I layered the chicken (which I chunked into bite sized pieces) in the bottom of my crockpot with half of a sliced onion, 4 ounces of chopped FRESH mushrooms, then covered it with the cream of mushroom soup and the white wine. Right before dinner, I stirred in 1 1/2 cups cooked broccoli, 2 cups cooked elbow macaroni, the sour cream and a good amount of fresh ground pepper. I didn't need the flour as the starch from the pasta thickened it up nicely. I'll make this again but I would add spices the second time around as it was a little bland. I would also double the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
We were a little disappointed in this recipe. It was very quick to prepare aside from the normal time in the cooker and the chicken had the perfect consistency, but it had a funny taste. We enjoy dishes with wine in them and creamy sauces, however, this dish had a very sour taste to it. It wasn't a taste of the wine and our sour cream wasn't bad, but the combination in the slow cooker made an almost unbearably sour taste. Our daughter wouldn't even eat it complaining of the acrid taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States